AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Educational rig
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/17/2005 12:22 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/17/2005 12:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

I'm tempted to put together a budget rig for my kid sister, who is developmentally disabled. It doesn't need to be flashy, just run her educational software and whatnot. I so far have the following in mind:

Sempron 2600+ (Palermo)' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...tion=19-104-226&depa=1
No motherboard chosen yet
512MB Kingmax PC3200' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...tion=20-156-006&depa=0 (already have)
No video card chosen yet
Antec SLK1600 case' ">http://www.compusa.com/product...code=313528&pfp=BROWSE
No PSU chosen yet, though I have several in mind
Lite-On DVD-ROM' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...tion=27-131-407&depa=0
No hard drive chosen, though I have a few in mind

Most of the stuff she does involves speech therapy software, and internet use. occasional word processing for homework. I may go with onboard video, if there is anything remotely decent out there, as this is a system being buit on a tight budget.

-Adam
 04/17/2005 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

as far as onboard video goes, the only good IGPs out there are on the ATI RS480 boards or the newer Intel XG2 chipset.

that said:

Asus K8S-MX' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...tion=13-131-518&depa=1 this board has some good reviews. Although newegg's description is wrong. It doesn't have a 1x PCIexpress slot...it has an AMR slot...

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 04/17/2005 11:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

That doesn't look bad at all. I'm still thinking about going with a seperate card, the Radeon 9000 (old spare I had) that I put in the Palomino 2100+ rig I built for her and my mother is more then fine for her educational and Harry Potter games. We are just toying with the idea of having a system for her in her bedroom.

-Adam
 04/17/2005 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

I think ur spare 9000 radion would do im running a 9200 right now and it runs most things so it shud be perfect for what u need too do with it

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
 04/17/2005 11:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Well, the 9000 isn't a spare anymore, it's in that Palomino rig that I just built for them in the living room. Only problem is that the 2 of them can never coordinated when one is on the system and another isn't...women...

-Adam

EDIT: Thinking about this' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...tion=14-102-444&depa=1 card. If I do decide to go with a seperate video card, then I'll also go with a normal ATX motherboard.

-Adam
 04/17/2005 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

that 9250 looks good for what that computer will be used for

you might consider going with a 2300+ sempron which is socket A? i'm building a computer like this one for my granparents, the motherboards on socket A are just a lot cheaper than a 754

Processor- http://www.newegg.com/app/View...esc....-104-209&depa=1' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...tion=19-104-209&depa=1

Motherboard-
http://www.newegg.com/app/View...esc....-157-046&depa=1' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...tion=13-157-046&depa=1

that motherboard has onboard video, and i have had a good experience with my asrock board i am running on my computer, not fast but it's rock solid

just a suggestion

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information