AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: $2000 system
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/26/2005 06:44 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/26/2005 06:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Erasmus
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2545
Joined: 02/17/2005

Whatcha think about this?

Thermaltake Armor VA8000BWS Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case

COOLER MASTER SAF-B82-E1 80 x 80 x 25mm 2 Ball Cooling Fan (2 of em)

JetWay 939GT4-SLI Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard

XFX PVT70FUNF7 Geforce 7800GTX 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card with 450MHz Core and 1250MHz Memory

OCZ OCZ520ADJ ATX 520W Power Supply

AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor

KINGMAX 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 500 (PC 4000) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model

Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 ST380013A-RK 80GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive
(2 of em)

AOpen Black IDE CD Burner Model CRW-5232/AAO PRO BK

LITE-ON Black IDE DVD Burner Model SOHW-1693S Black

CREATIVE Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS SB0350 8 (7.1) Channels PCI Interface Sound Card

ENERMAX WS-8SLFS Whispersys System Exhaust Blower

Logitech X-230 32 Watts RMS 2.1 Speaker

For around $1,850.00
Will everything work together ok? /unsure.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='unsure.gif' />

-------------------------
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 @ 2.8ghz
RAM: G.Skill RipJaw DDR3 1600, 8gb - 2gbx4
GPU: ASUS HD 5770 (1gb, 850/1200)
MOBO: BIOSTAR TA790GXB3
PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650W
 07/26/2005 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

i just built a $2000 system check out the sig

EDIT bad choice on the hard drives... get a larger one, and it will be cheaper. i know youre probably looking at RAID but if you are dont do it with 2x80gb...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 07/26/2005 06:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Erasmus
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2545
Joined: 02/17/2005

yeah, but did u buy sound card, speakers, keyboard, mouse, case and etc?

-------------------------
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 @ 2.8ghz
RAM: G.Skill RipJaw DDR3 1600, 8gb - 2gbx4
GPU: ASUS HD 5770 (1gb, 850/1200)
MOBO: BIOSTAR TA790GXB3
PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650W
 07/26/2005 06:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FreeTheRock
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 03/20/2004

I would get the Cooler Master WaveMaster instead of that case.

I would get a tagan TG480-U22 instead of that PSU, OCZ is good but that one is $135 and the tagan is $90, and has dual 12v rails which is better than 1 rail.

Also i would get the 3700+ San Diego, better performence updated memory controler and 1meg of cache instead of 512kb.

I would also get some OCZ gold, Mushkin Redline, or some Corsair XMS.

Other than those things that comp looks good.

-------------------------
FreeTheRock 60 Mage

 07/26/2005 06:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

no i already had that stuff

nevermind

looks good, but hard drive situation needs work, i would only get one optical drive, and i have never heard of that board

other than that looks good

and ultimately its up to you anyway, so dont take my word as fact

good advice from above me too, i agree with all of that (but case is kind of an opinion thing)

spend the money to get some 2-2-2-X PC3200 memory, unless you want to overclock... no one wants to see a 7800gtx and kingston ram...

EDIT kingmax, haha, not sure which one is worse...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 07/26/2005 06:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Erasmus
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2545
Joined: 02/17/2005

I will go with 1 200gb hard drive

and what company makes the TG480-U22 ?

-------------------------
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 @ 2.8ghz
RAM: G.Skill RipJaw DDR3 1600, 8gb - 2gbx4
GPU: ASUS HD 5770 (1gb, 850/1200)
MOBO: BIOSTAR TA790GXB3
PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650W
 07/26/2005 06:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Prodigy
Senior Member

Posts: 333
Joined: 05/23/2004

I have never heard of Jetway myself either? Do you plan on doing Overclocking at all? If not you could probably save yourself some money and get some PC3200. And if you are overclocking I would recommend the DFI motherboards.

Tagan/ePower Makes that Powersupply.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego, XP-90C with TT Silent Cat Fan
1GB(2x512MB) Mushkin Redline XP4000
DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D, Emprex 16x Dual-Layer DVD Burner
250GB Western Digital SATA2 16MB Cache HDD
120GB Western Digital ATA inside Vantec Nexstar 3 Enclosure
Tagan 480-U22 PSU, X850XT PE, Audigy 2 ZS Gamer Edition
 07/26/2005 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FreeTheRock
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 03/20/2004

QUOTE(Erasmus @ Jul 26 2005, 05:55 PM)I will go with 1 200gb hard drive

and what company makes the TG480-U22 ?
[right][snapback]469007[/snapback][/right]
Tagan is the company that makes it who is under the mother company of TOPOWER who also makes OCZ and E-Power PSU's among other companies.


-------------------------
FreeTheRock 60 Mage

 07/26/2005 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

id get a more reputable board though...

getting a fancy proc/card is not going to be near as cool if you have junk ram and a mobo that barely works.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 07/26/2005 07:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FreeTheRock
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 03/20/2004

the Jetway is not a bad board at all, Harley and Jason were talking about how great it was and how good of an overclocking board it was, they said it was promiseing how well the board did compared to others.

-------------------------
FreeTheRock 60 Mage

 07/26/2005 07:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

ok nevermind

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 07/26/2005 07:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Erasmus
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2545
Joined: 02/17/2005

I will ASUS A8N SLI board with Corsair XMS DDR 500 ram. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /> Much better, yes?

And I can not find that PSU anywhere, can u give me a newegg link?

-------------------------
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 @ 2.8ghz
RAM: G.Skill RipJaw DDR3 1600, 8gb - 2gbx4
GPU: ASUS HD 5770 (1gb, 850/1200)
MOBO: BIOSTAR TA790GXB3
PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650W
 07/26/2005 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

you should have just spent that money just on the machine. you would have had a better system. not that it already isnt. nice specs. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /> but with that kind of money i would have expected an X2 4200 atleast.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 07/26/2005 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

he has to buy all the extra stuff,
EDIT wait erasmus you already have a system just carry over the monitor/keyboard/etc unless they are junk or something

and the RAM... you only need PC3200/DDR400 if you arent going to overclock, in fact, it will be BETTER if you arent going to OC

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 07/26/2005 07:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JesterOnYEr6
Senior Member

Posts: 5537
Joined: 01/21/2004

Get the OCZ modstream power supply its fully modular and very sexy. As far as building a system right now I would wait a month for R520 because if it kicks the 7800GTX all over the place you are gonna be very sad.

-------------------------
Phenom 9600 BE @ 2.5 ghz | Ati HD2900XT | OCZ Titanium XTC DDR800 4Gigs | MSI K9A2 Platinum | XFi Xtreme | Zalman 9700 | Enermax 620W | Dell 2405 | G7 | G15
 07/26/2005 07:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Erasmus
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2545
Joined: 02/17/2005

ddr 400 will perform better if I am not going to OC? How does that work?

And he wants to game and I think the X2 4400 runs on 2 3200s right? Not sure, but I think he would rather have the 3700+

-------------------------
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 @ 2.8ghz
RAM: G.Skill RipJaw DDR3 1600, 8gb - 2gbx4
GPU: ASUS HD 5770 (1gb, 850/1200)
MOBO: BIOSTAR TA790GXB3
PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650W
 07/26/2005 07:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

i know but if i had $2000 i would first look into an X2. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 07/26/2005 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JesterOnYEr6
Senior Member

Posts: 5537
Joined: 01/21/2004

X2 4400 is two 3700 San Diego cores.

-------------------------
Phenom 9600 BE @ 2.5 ghz | Ati HD2900XT | OCZ Titanium XTC DDR800 4Gigs | MSI K9A2 Platinum | XFi Xtreme | Zalman 9700 | Enermax 620W | Dell 2405 | G7 | G15
 07/26/2005 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Erasmus
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2545
Joined: 02/17/2005

that 4400 is about $400 more, can't do that with this budget, cause its a from scratch system and what not.

Can some1 get me a link to that Tagan psu?

-------------------------
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 @ 2.8ghz
RAM: G.Skill RipJaw DDR3 1600, 8gb - 2gbx4
GPU: ASUS HD 5770 (1gb, 850/1200)
MOBO: BIOSTAR TA790GXB3
PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650W
 07/26/2005 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

get the 37 if you are gaming

because you are supposed to match the FSB by the DDR rating divided by 2, DDR400/2 = 200 matches the default clock. DDR means double data rate thats you you divide.

unless you cant get as good timings with PC3200, but you can.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information