AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Opteron 148 OC
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/30/2005 05:41 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/30/2005 05:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

Alright I just ran AquaMark 3. There's definitely an improvement over my Venice, but the RAM is still limiting the Opteron, and it's obvious in these results:

Venice @ 2.20GHz, RAM @ 200MHz

' ">http://img438.imageshack.us/my...=aquamark3score1dj.jpg

Opteron @ 2.67GHz, RAM @ 205MHz

' ">http://img530.imageshack.us/my...image=aquamark31wg.jpg

-------------------------
 12/30/2005 10:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

Now cruisin' at 2.7GHz! /cool.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='cool.gif' />



http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=60440' ">http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=60440

-------------------------
 12/30/2005 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Go, CouGar! Go!



 12/30/2005 10:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

QUOTE(ninjastyle @ Dec 30 2005, 11:13 PM)Go, CouGar! Go!
[right][snapback]579743[/snapback][/right]
Hahah! I'm afraid the stupid Kingstons will blow up! They're running at 208MHz right now with 2.65V.

-------------------------
 12/30/2005 10:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

crusin indeed

no new ram today

in fact i still havent even got a ship confirm

running at a 'mere' 2.5ghz right now, memory running at 230mhz with horrible timings to just try to stay stable enough for CSS

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/30/2005 10:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

It's good to see the CPU is doing well though, and I feel you're nowhere near maxed out yet. Good going man.
 12/30/2005 10:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

QUOTE(ninjastyle @ Dec 30 2005, 11:16 PM)It's good to see the CPU is doing well though, and I feel you're nowhere near maxed out yet. Good going man.
[right][snapback]579750[/snapback][/right]

Honestly, even though I don't have as much OC experience as you, I feel the same way too! I'm doing a bit of Stress Prime 2004 for the RAM right now and some Super PI runs. Do you think I can push the RAM to 215MHz? I'll go for 210 in a bit, but this RAM really sucks so I don't know...

-------------------------
 12/30/2005 10:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

It's impossible for me to say, but man it's gotta be worth a try. Head for 2.8Ghz!

 12/30/2005 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

i woulndt bother wasting time seeing how fast you can get your current mem to run, wait til the new stuff to raise the divider. thats what im doing.

then again i cant even OC the CPU part that high because im trying ot keep chipset temps down when/IF that scammy website delivers my new copper chipset cooler

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/30/2005 10:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

QUOTE(ninjastyle @ Dec 30 2005, 11:28 PM)It's impossible for me to say, but man it's gotta be worth a try. Head for 2.8Ghz!
[right][snapback]579760[/snapback][/right]

I could always drop down to a 166 RAM divider (I'm at 183 now) and reach it that way, with incredibly slow RAM speeds! I'm gonna stop SP04 now and do a Super PI run, then give AquaMark 3 another shot.

-------------------------
 12/30/2005 10:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Well using a low RAM divider is the best way to find the max CPU OC anyway, that's how it's done (by taking the RAM out of the equasion). Once you've done that, you'll know exactly what the CPU is capable of.
 12/30/2005 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

' ">http://img514.imageshack.us/im...6/aquamark327067vr.jpg

BOOM! HEADSHOT! Of course the RAM... blah blah blah... I hate it! /laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />

-------------------------
 12/30/2005 11:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

Ok guys, I'm about to shoot for 2805MHz (FX-57)!

Should I....

A. Drop the HTT Multi to 3 = 255 x 3 = 765
B. Keep the HTT Multi to 4 = 255 x 4 = 1020

A or B? /laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />

-------------------------
 12/30/2005 11:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

whichever boots. it hardly matters. id go with 1020 just for kicks but dont be upping the LDT voltage or anything

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/30/2005 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

QUOTE(TheReturnOfAZ @ Dec 31 2005, 12:07 AM)whichever boots.  it hardly matters.  id go with 1020 just for kicks but dont be upping the LDT voltage or anything
[right][snapback]579795[/snapback][/right]

LDT being?

I'm at 2750MHz right now, about to run a bit of Stress Prime 04 for a bit and then AquaMark 3 again.

' ">http://img527.imageshack.us/my...pteronoc2750mhz4xm.jpg

-------------------------
 12/30/2005 11:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Yeah, see if you can get away with a 4x multi first. You might be able to do it cause it's not hugely over.

EDIT: LDT = Lightning Dynamic Transfer, I think. Or Transport... I forget.

EDIT 2: No, I remember... Lightning Data Transport = the HTT multiplier.
 12/31/2005 12:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

Ok guys, It booted at 252 x 4 HTT.

I'm at 2772MHz right now! Gonna run some tests now...

-------------------------
 12/31/2005 12:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
daRk Kon
Senior Member

Posts: 3340
Joined: 08/13/2005

QUOTE(CouGaR @ Dec 31 2005, 12:19 AM)Ok guys, It booted at 252 x 4 HTT.

I'm at 2772MHz right now! Gonna run some tests now...
[right][snapback]579845[/snapback][/right]

stay around 2000 HTT tho, you dont want to go too much over it, under it wont hurt tho..
mine is currently at 1740htt

yours is at 2016htt, i wouldnt go over 100 on the htt over 2000htt tho, so 2100htt is my limit before i lower the multi

-------------------------
heeelp, ADMINS and MODERATORS, help i by accident put in the wrong EMAIL address and now i cant do anything.
 12/31/2005 12:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

If he can boot and stay stable, it'll be fine.
 12/31/2005 01:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005



I HIT 2805MHz - FX-57 SPEEDS

' ">http://img511.imageshack.us/my...pteronoc2805mhz5qz.jpg

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=60468' ">http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=60468

Sorry about the balloons! /laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />

The RAM is running at exactly 200MHz as well and I'm still on the 4x HTT Multi.

I'm so happy I now know I have a guaranteed FX-57 in my possession!

-------------------------
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » Desktop Specs & Component Recommendations » Opteron 148 OC

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information