AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: New CPU today
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/11/2006 01:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/11/2006 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

Heres what I got...

Athlon 64 3200+ (whinchester)
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB G.Skill Extreme PC4000
Radeon x1800gto
E-Power Puma II PSU
160GB HD
Thermaltake Venus12 HSF

Thats the basics for my main rig...heres what else I have...

MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
1GB Crucial Ballistix
Geforce 6800
40GB HD

And a third and final computer I hope to build and maybe give my mom...

Athlon XP 2400+
MSI Mobo
1.5GB DDR2700
Radeon 9600pro

So my first step is getting me a new processor...I am debating between the x2 3800+ and the x2 4400+, cant seem to find any good comparisons between them. I pick these because they are the cheapest of the core. I do plan to overclock, no idea how you tell which cores/steppings are good for it and how you make sure to get a good one.

Then after this I will be getting a case/psu (cheap) for this second system I will have all these parts for. This computer will not get used that often (laptop is already a 2nd computer) but it would be nice to have laying around for friends that might wanna come over and whatnot. Looking for a case that is cheap with a good enough PSU for both of these. If I can maybe get 1 bad looking case with a good PSU and another good looking case with a bad PSU, I will switch the PSUs out so the A64 system has good case/decent PSU and the athlon xp system is bad case/bad psu

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 08/11/2006 01:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

I'd say just get the 3800+ X2, Since people have been saying that they average 2.4-2.6. Then for the Case and PSU, are they for the other system? or the one you have now?

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 08/11/2006 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

I am definatly keeping my PSU in my good rig, the case I dunno, depends on how it looks.

I like the looks of this one, decent PSU (except the brand)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16811144043

what companies would put solid PSUs in a cheap case? That way I can use the above case for my main rig with my PUMA II PSU, the PSU that comes in there with a crappy case for the AXP system, and my case with the decent PSU from the crappy case for the other A64 system.

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 08/11/2006 01:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

Do you have a keyboard for the system, because there is a case that comes with a free keyboard+mouse? And about the Case+PSU, i'm not quite sure.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16811156043

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 08/11/2006 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royal Flush
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3006
Joined: 02/27/2005

PSU HEC orion 400watt psu (No its not a crap brand)- http://www.directron.com/hp400d.html

Case Centurion 5 - http://www.directron.com/cact05uw.html

-------------------------
zzzap!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information