AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: what service
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/25/2006 03:02 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/25/2006 03:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

hopefully easy question

what service/proccess runs windows installer, mines being a pain wouldnt install my cd's
so im going to check wheather the services are running and processes are.
 05/25/2006 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

bump
 05/25/2006 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Smogsy
hopefully easy question

what service/proccess runs windows installer, mines being a pain wouldnt install my cd's
so im going to check wheather the services are running and processes are.



What do you mean? It is your optical driver that reads files and it can be that it is not reading files as it should. Installing will be the same if you run it form HD or CD from windows view. Look after Windows installer in services. Mine is set to manual, so I would think that yours also need to be that.

-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
 05/25/2006 05:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

its on manual

its only since i got sp2 strange...


it could be me over killing services just find which 1 i killed that stopped it from working but installer is on manual

any others that it uses?
 05/25/2006 06:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Smogsy
its on manual

its only since i got sp2 strange...
it could be me over killing services just find which 1 i killed that stopped it from working but installer is on manual

any others that it uses?


I used to be just like you, closing pretty much every service unless I was certain I needed it; I ran into problems like this. My advice: enable every Micro$oft service unless you're certain you don't need it.

-------------------------
 05/26/2006 01:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

i found out

all installtions work expext ones needing windows installer gunna try slowly putting processes back

fixed was one of the com+
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information