AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: PCI Express x1 TV Tuner Card In A HP a1130n
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/24/2006 07:59 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/24/2006 07:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
patchybeard
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/24/2006

I bought a Powercolor 550 Pro PCI Express x1 TV tuner card to install in my HP a1130n with the understanding that a 16x PCI Express slot was backwards-compatable in most new computers. However, when I install the card my HP hangs up when it boots. Does anyone know if there is a fix for this, or do I need a different card? My machine is totally stock except that I have installed the latest bios upgrade. This is my first post, so please forgive me if it is in the wrong forum... if so, please advise me so I can post correctly. Many thanks to anyone who wishes to reply!!
 04/24/2006 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ncc-1709
Senior Member

Posts: 596
Joined: 12/25/2005

a pci-e 1x card is a diffrent slot type to a pci-e 16x, and have diffrent voltages going through them

-------------------------
Intel E6700 Core2Duo 3.45Ghz
G'byte 965P-DS4 s775
Corsair TwinX DDR2 PC6400 C4 (500 @ 4-4-4-6/ 600 @ 5-7-7-20)
7800 gtx xxx
Passive/chiller water system
 04/24/2006 08:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
patchybeard
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: ncc-1709
a pci-e 1x card is a diffrent slot type to a pci-e 16x, and have diffrent voltages going through them




Thanks for educating me, as the pci express standards are very confusing. Powercolor doesn't have a 16x card that I can find, so I guess my only choice is to buy a regular pci card. Thanks for your help!
 04/24/2006 08:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

x16 is backwards compatible with x1, so is x2, x4, and so on. If the machine is freaking out I'd call it a software problem, maybe with the drivers. I know that in its self isn't very helpful, but it should work that way, so before buying a new card you might want to do a little googling to see if anyone else has encountered a similar problem.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 04/24/2006 08:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

if you can put a 16x pci express video card in a 4x slot, why can't you put a 1x card into the 16x slot. I don't think it has anything to do with voltages. the problem is likely the BIOS that HP uses for that MSI RS480 Motherboard.

http://www.interfacebus.com/De...nect...CI_Express.html

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown The PCIe 1x connector has 36 signal pins, the 4x connector has 64 signal pins, the 8x connector has 98 signal pins, and the 16x connector has 164 signal pins. A PCI express card is upward compatible, so a 1x card will fit in any card slot, a 4x card will fit into an 8 or 16x port and so on. An adaptor card using 16x lanes will only fit in a x16 size connector.



edit: yeah, what Mime said.

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 04/24/2006 08:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
patchybeard
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: MrWicked1968
if you can put a 16x pci express video card in a 4x slot, why can't you put a 1x card into the 16x slot. I don't think it has anything to do with voltages. the problem is likely the BIOS that HP uses for that MSI RS480 Motherboard.

http://www.interfacebus.com/De...nect...CI_Express.html
edit: yeah, what Mime said.




Thanks for all of the replies! I tried googling first before I posted, but could find no one with this problem. I am beginning to suspect the HP bios, because I can't get the computer to boot so as to install the drivers. I am open to any suggestions!! Thanks!!
 04/25/2006 12:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

Might help if you take out your TV-card (so you can boot up) and look around in BIOS for setting that can effect PCI express x16 buss. Normally it is used for videocard and there could be some setting with shared memory for videocards that doesn't work well when you have a PCIe x1 card in that slot. Turn off you computer after you have found this and changed it to to be disabled after you have saved these setting in BIOS. Remember to put back your TV-card and see if you now can boot up into windows.



-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
 04/25/2006 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
patchybeard
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: blizard
Might help if you take out your TV-card (so you can boot up) and look around in BIOS for setting that can effect PCI express x16 buss. Normally it is used for videocard and there could be some setting with shared memory for videocards that doesn't work well when you have a PCIe x1 card in that slot. Turn off you computer after you have found this and changed it to to be disabled after you have saved these setting in BIOS. Remember to put back your TV-card and see if you now can boot up into windows.




I finally got a reply from a HP tech, who says he checked the specs for the card and the computer and the card should work with no changes in bios. I guess it's my luck to be dealt a bad card!! Thanks to everyone for giving me your opinions, you guys were on the right track about a 1x being used in a 16x slot!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information