AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: MS-6191 cpu ugrade advice needed
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/02/2006 12:11 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/02/2006 12:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
essexbiker
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/01/2006

I have an old Packard Bell PB9750 s/n M918500063, which has an MS-6191 mobo + 320MB RAM running Windows XP Pro.
Core Logic (Chipset)
AMD ® Irongate chipset (Northbridge) 200 MHz EV6 System Interface speed
100 MHz SDRAM
1x/2x AGP o AMD ® 756 TM (Viper) chipset (Southbridge)
OHCI USB
APIC
ACPI Power Management
Internal IDE controller
HDD/CD-ROM with PIO and Ultra DMA/66 operation modes
Up to four IDE devices
Form Factor: µATX ·
CPU Support: Slot A for AMD ® Athlon TM processor
Support 500 MHz, 550 MHz, 600 MHz or higher processor

I know it's a very old system by today's standards but I can't afford to buy a new one (even a secondhand one) for the foreseeable future - so I am going to buy some more RAM (no problem) and I also want to try and upgrade the CPU.

But what type of CPU do I need? And what is the maximum CPU speed that my mobo will take? Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.

-------------------------
Packard Bell PB9750 s/n M918500063 (circa 1999)
Athena MS-6191 mobo
Core Logic (Chipset)AMD ® Irongate chipset (Northbridge)
AMD ® 756 TM (Viper) chipset (Southbridge)
80gb HD and 320mb RAM.
Q-tech 400w PSU
Currently running WINXP Pro.
CPU Supports: Slot A for AMD ® Athlon TM processor o Support 500 MHz, 550 MHz, 600 MHz or higher processor.
 10/02/2006 07:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

well, ram would help. but not alot. it has its limitations. as for the cpu, maybe if your lucky, your motherboard might be able to handle an Athlon 1.0ghz chip. maybe. and thats even if you can find one out there too. id really rather get a whole new or used computer insted of upgrading the current one you have. i dont know how easy or hard it is to find a SLOT A cpu out there now days. let alone a socket A chip which are starting to dissapeare. best of luck to you.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 02/08/2007 12:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
compass23
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/08/2007

quote:

Originally posted by: essexbiker
I have an old Packard Bell PB9750 s/n M918500063, which has an MS-6191 mobo + 320MB RAM running Windows XP Pro.
Core Logic (Chipset)
AMD ® Irongate chipset (Northbridge) 200 MHz EV6 System Interface speed
100 MHz SDRAM
1x/2x AGP o AMD ® 756 TM (Viper) chipset (Southbridge)
OHCI USB
APIC
ACPI Power Management
Internal IDE controller
HDD/CD-ROM with PIO and Ultra DMA/66 operation modes
Up to four IDE devices
Form Factor: µATX ·
CPU Support: Slot A for AMD ® Athlon TM processor
Support 500 MHz, 550 MHz, 600 MHz or higher processor

I know it's a very old system by today's standards but I can't afford to buy a new one (even a secondhand one) for the foreseeable future - so I am going to buy some more RAM (no problem) and I also want to try and upgrade the CPU.

But what type of CPU do I need? And what is the maximum CPU speed that my mobo will take? Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.



you can drop in a 1.0GHz chip, if you can find it. Memory is maxed at 512 on that board, so you have a little room to grow.
 02/08/2007 06:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PFX_79
Senior Member

Posts: 233
Joined: 08/20/2006

Yeah the max is 512mb's PC100 memory, and a 1Ghz Tbird, the link below will show you everything ya need to know about that mainboard.

http://www.fujitsu-siemens.co....rvic...6191/ms6191.htm

I'm not sure about finding the CPU for it, but there's a site i've used a number of times (tho no idea if they ship to the UK) to find memory for older systems such as the one you have....

www.Memoryupgrade.com
 02/08/2007 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: PFX_79
Yeah the max is 512mb's PC100 memory, and a 1Ghz Tbird, the link below will show you everything ya need to know about that mainboard.

http://www.fujitsu-siemens.co....rvic...6191/ms6191.htm

I'm not sure about finding the CPU for it, but there's a site i've used a number of times (tho no idea if they ship to the UK) to find memory for older systems such as the one you have....

www.Memoryupgrade.com



To OP:
Be careful that you don't pay too much for these part as these are old and some charge rather much for the performance you will have from upgrading. I think you might be better off even to go for system that are like 2 years old or something. You should be able to find those almost for the same price you would have to pay for only CPU+memory by today's standard.

-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
 02/08/2007 06:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deejus
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 02/01/2007

really, u can drop less than $100 and get 1.6ghz 64 bit proc with new mobo and 256 ddr ram...would really be an improvement of that computer...and would cost about the same than finding old parts.

www.newegg.com if ur in US, all 3 of them parts were around $86= +shipping, you will pay just about that much tryin to upgrade the current stuff

-------------------------
EPoX EP-AF550GPRO Socket AM2
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Windsor (2.2ghz)
eVGA GeForce 7600Gt
Corsair DDR2-533 512x2 dual channel RAM
WD IDE 160gb HD

 02/08/2007 07:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Sanatarium
really, u can drop less than $100 and get 1.6ghz 64 bit proc with new mobo and 256 ddr ram...would really be an improvement of that computer...and would cost about the same than finding old parts.

www.newegg.com if ur in US, all 3 of them parts were around $86= +shipping, you will pay just about that much tryin to upgrade the current stuff



I would not suggest to only upgrade CPU+memory like this in a microATX case that might be fit for the older CPU demand for cooling, but not for today's.

To OP:

You must also realise that the life time for your computer system is almost 8 year by now and in that case you will sooner or later have more hardware failure to come up. Even electronic devices wear out after this time and mechanical devices like harddisk, DVD/CD and fans (I would believe you have one at least in PSU) have a shorter life span then a CPU or memory. I can understand you are short of money and want only to make some minor adjustment in hardware, but is rare that it will be of any good and with a system that have 8 year on its neck it will start to show.

My best tip would be to look for a complete system that are used or to look for a demo/furbished version. Those can be cheap as there are people that order systems to be built and don't want them. I suggest this because you would need to have good PSU, decent case, a cheap video card etc and that would add up to some cost -could be less or more, then a pre-made system.

I can not find this (demo or furbished system) on newegg or komplett.co.uk, but it is on komplett.se. You might find it on web shops or even in retail shop (especially if they costume build computer) at your home.

-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information