AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Zalman VF700-Cu
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/31/2006 08:36 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/31/2006 08:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
conzymaher
Senior Member

Posts: 1103
Joined: 09/16/2005

I have just been offered a Zalman VF700-Cu from a friend for €20 (great price)

Should I take it? The stock cooler on the X1800XT is extremely loud

Will the ramsinks be ok for the 1.6ghz ram?

Oh and its used so will AS5 on the cooler and ramsinks be ok?

-------------------------
Core 2 Duo E4300 at stock until my Scythe Ninja arrives Abit AB9 Pro , 2 gigs OCZ Titanium 800mhz (4-4-4-15), Sapphire X1800XT 512MB<!--/color
 05/31/2006 09:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

I had it on my old X800XL, and it was great, but an X1800XT will melt that thing!

-------------------------
 05/31/2006 09:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: CouGaR I had it on my old X800XL, and it was great, but an X1800XT will melt that thing!


Not sure it cooled my 6600GT back in the day pretty well. I ran it at 550/1250 and it ran really cool, so I guess its trial and error


-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
 05/31/2006 09:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
conzymaher
Senior Member

Posts: 1103
Joined: 09/16/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: CouGaR
I had it on my old X800XL, and it was great, but an X1800XT will melt that thing!



Lol, Are you sure?

I found lots of reviews but none tested it on a X1800XT.

It cant be worse than the stock leaf blower, I mean cooler

-------------------------
Core 2 Duo E4300 at stock until my Scythe Ninja arrives Abit AB9 Pro , 2 gigs OCZ Titanium 800mhz (4-4-4-15), Sapphire X1800XT 512MB<!--/color
 05/31/2006 10:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: candle_86 Not sure it cooled my 6600GT back in the day pretty well. I ran it at 550/1250 and it ran really cool, so I guess its trial and error

You might not want to compare the heat outputs of a 6600GT against an X1800XT....

I just checked, and it looks like Zalman has added the X1800XT to the list of compatible VGA cards for that cooler, so I guess you can give it a try. I don't think you should expect a cooling miracle, but it will be more quiet.

-------------------------
 05/31/2006 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: CouGaR
You might not want to compare the heat outputs of a 6600GT against an X1800XT....

I just checked, and it looks like Zalman has added the X1800XT to the list of compatible VGA cards for that cooler, so I guess you can give it a try. I don't think you should expect a cooling miracle, but it will be more quiet.


heat wise would be similar not close.


-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
 05/31/2006 11:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
conzymaher
Senior Member

Posts: 1103
Joined: 09/16/2005

Hmmmmmmm

Well i looked around and a lot of people are using them on X1800XTs and some even on X1900XTXs........

One guy even had his X1800XT overclocked to 700mhz+ core with a voltage bump so im gonna go for it.........

How will i stick on the ramsinks?

AS5 and elastic bands?

-------------------------
Core 2 Duo E4300 at stock until my Scythe Ninja arrives Abit AB9 Pro , 2 gigs OCZ Titanium 800mhz (4-4-4-15), Sapphire X1800XT 512MB<!--/color
 05/31/2006 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

usually they come with adhesive pads, or you can get like a [PERMANENT] as5 type thing but honestly i just use AS5

its sticky enough to hold heatsinks on, even upside down, and after a few hours of use and heating/cooling then its pretty tough

i have ONLY as5 holding heatsinks onto my pwmic

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 05/31/2006 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
conzymaher
Senior Member

Posts: 1103
Joined: 09/16/2005

Ok, anyone else have expierience with a VF700cu on a hot card?

How come I never heard of this

It beats a Accelero X1 and costs $20

And its beautiful /wub.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":wub:" border="0" alt="wub.gif" />



-------------------------
Core 2 Duo E4300 at stock until my Scythe Ninja arrives Abit AB9 Pro , 2 gigs OCZ Titanium 800mhz (4-4-4-15), Sapphire X1800XT 512MB<!--/color
 05/31/2006 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

from the above linked article:
quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown The biggest advantage over the stock cooler is that the Turbo 2 is doing its job with a lot less noise.


there aren't any modern articles concerning performance of the vf700 on newer gpu's (x1800 etc), although the newer vf900 is turning a lot of heads.

when I had my X800XL cooled by a VF700 ALCU it allowed a higher stable overclock than the stock cooler and it kept it pretty cool as well, though I don't think the X800XL was a particularly hot running gpu in the first place.

I think that if you use AS5 or the arctic cooling mx-1, you'll get excellent performance from a vf700. if you can find a way to increase the fan speed, all the more better. the Fatal1ty version of the vf700 differs only in color and fan speed.

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 05/31/2006 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
conzymaher
Senior Member

Posts: 1103
Joined: 09/16/2005

Thanks

So the fatality is louder i guess?

Or does it have a super silent faster fan?

-------------------------
Core 2 Duo E4300 at stock until my Scythe Ninja arrives Abit AB9 Pro , 2 gigs OCZ Titanium 800mhz (4-4-4-15), Sapphire X1800XT 512MB<!--/color
 05/31/2006 05:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: conzymaher Thanks

So the fatality is louder i guess?

Or does it have a super silent faster fan?

I had the Fatal1ty on my old X800XL, it was very quiet and looked awesome.

-------------------------
 05/31/2006 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jaymz9350
Senior Member

Posts: 591
Joined: 03/06/2005

i have a vf700-cu on my 1800xt and it works great. load temps only reach about 58 during gaming idles at about 40. i have it running @ 700 core 1.6 on the mem with the ram sinks, no voltage increase. much quieter than the stock heatsink.
 05/31/2006 06:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
conzymaher
Senior Member

Posts: 1103
Joined: 09/16/2005

Thanks Jay, I will sleep tonight knowing, that soon, I will have a silent PC!!!!



-------------------------
Core 2 Duo E4300 at stock until my Scythe Ninja arrives Abit AB9 Pro , 2 gigs OCZ Titanium 800mhz (4-4-4-15), Sapphire X1800XT 512MB<!--/color
 05/31/2006 06:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jaymz9350
Senior Member

Posts: 591
Joined: 03/06/2005

no prob. i bought mine when i bought the card. had one on my 800xl and loved it. my pc by no means is quiet but the stock cooler drove me nuts
 05/31/2006 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ncc-1709
Senior Member

Posts: 596
Joined: 12/25/2005

the ram actually needs cooling on thoes???
ive had mine over 2ghz without ram sinks on and without artifacts. so how much voltage do thoes things kick out?

-------------------------
Intel E6700 Core2Duo 3.45Ghz
G'byte 965P-DS4 s775
Corsair TwinX DDR2 PC6400 C4 (500 @ 4-4-4-6/ 600 @ 5-7-7-20)
7800 gtx xxx
Passive/chiller water system
 05/31/2006 07:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jaymz9350
Senior Member

Posts: 591
Joined: 03/06/2005

i don't know if it needs cooling on the ram but it came with ramsinks so i put them on. i haven't tried to see how far i can push it yet because i don't really need to and i haven't had the time yet. and i believe the ram runs @ about 2.something (can't remember exactly and i'm on my laptop right now)
 06/01/2006 07:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
conzymaher
Senior Member

Posts: 1103
Joined: 09/16/2005

The ram is 700mhz (1.4ghz) at stock

And can be overclocked 1.8ghz+

-------------------------
Core 2 Duo E4300 at stock until my Scythe Ninja arrives Abit AB9 Pro , 2 gigs OCZ Titanium 800mhz (4-4-4-15), Sapphire X1800XT 512MB<!--/color
 06/01/2006 07:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jaymz9350
Senior Member

Posts: 591
Joined: 03/06/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: conzymaher
The ram is 700mhz (1.4ghz) at stock

And can be overclocked 1.8ghz+


it's actually 750(1.5 ghz) in 3d mode stock. it lowers the clocks to 600 core 700 mem in 2d mode. took me a while to realize this, i thought my card was messed up at first
 06/01/2006 07:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
conzymaher
Senior Member

Posts: 1103
Joined: 09/16/2005

Thanks,

What are you using to overclock it?

Because I dont think ATI tray tools supports overclockg the X1xxx series yet

-------------------------
Core 2 Duo E4300 at stock until my Scythe Ninja arrives Abit AB9 Pro , 2 gigs OCZ Titanium 800mhz (4-4-4-15), Sapphire X1800XT 512MB<!--/color
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information