AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Buying amd dual core 4200+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/26/2006 04:49 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/26/2006 04:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zuala77
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 04/26/2006

Hi i am upgrading my p4 3GHZ 1 gb ram to AMD 64x2 4200+ and i will be using it for some games and mostly i want to have the allround fast system although i dont play much games...i do a lot of MP3 encoding and decoding......and also office 2003 with photoshop.... i would like to know what components should i go for ...other than the processor and mobo which is k8 platinum series..power supply?harddisk? and other stuff...
Please Help!


-------------------------
AMD 64X2 4200+
512X2 Kingston Hyperx
7800GTX X 2 SLI
Aquatec Liquid cooler
K8Neo4 Platinum
Ultra4 Chipset
 04/26/2006 05:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdG
Senior Member

Posts: 1592
Joined: 10/07/2003

I've built two 4200+ systems (just like in my sig) and they have been flawless for 5 months now, one has 2x1gb corsair and the other has 4 sticks of mixed ram for 1.5gb, no stabilty problems at all (which is always my main concern). I'd have to reccomend the 10K RPM drives if anything. Good Luck!
 04/26/2006 05:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zuala77
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 04/26/2006

Thanks.....What about the power supply(PSU) and what is the idle temp and the Max load temp and what mobo are u using ?
Will there be much difference from the p4 3ghz Ht??????Any tips for using it

-------------------------
AMD 64X2 4200+
512X2 Kingston Hyperx
7800GTX X 2 SLI
Aquatec Liquid cooler
K8Neo4 Platinum
Ultra4 Chipset
 04/26/2006 06:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdG
Senior Member

Posts: 1592
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: peters05
Thanks.....What about the power supply(PSU) and what is the idle temp and the Max load temp and what mobo are u using ?
Will there be much difference from the p4 3ghz Ht??????Any tips for using it


Specs are in the sig.
It's a full tower case with 3-80mm thermal controlled case fans, 2-rear, one front.
Thermal controlled fans sensors are on graphics card near chipset so case air flow is pretty low unless gaming. Results below were taken with 227x11 @ 1.375V (2497MHz) This was before I knew the CPU would OC almost 400MHz at default vcore.

CODEStock AMD Heat Sink Fan, all ALU type.
(Note power usage taken at PSU 120VAC input)

Windows Idle @ stock settings (2.2GHz @ 1.35V)
Power   CPU    Room
--------------------
115W    33C    70.0F

Windows Idle @ stock settings w/AMD CnQ enabled (1GHz @ 1.1V)
Power   CPU    Room
--------------------
105W    29C    70.4F

Windows Idle @ 2497MHz
Power   CPU   Room
--------------------
115W    33C    70.0F

P95 FPU Stress (1 copy on 1 core) @ 2497MHz
Power    CPU    Room
--------------------
150W    43C    70.3F

P95 FPU Stress (1 copy per core) @ 2497MHz
Power   CPU    Room
--------------------
190W    52C    70.0F
 04/26/2006 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shazaam
Senior Member

Posts: 4201
Joined: 12/24/2005

for a GPU, try for a 7600GT
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information