AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Antec Truepower 2 and X1900XT
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/05/2006 01:15 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/05/2006 01:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hassanbigboss
Member

Posts: 74
Joined: 11/30/2005

I am about to buy the X1900XT and the Antec Truwpower 2 power supply. My question is that will there be enough power in this power supplies +12v rails to pump out 26 amps for F.E.A.R. The reason I ask this is because I have heard people say that games like FEAR will push this video card to the limit where it will require at leat 26amps at the 12v rails. This PSU seems to have 2 12V rails pumping out 19amps at each. How will this work or should I go with some other PSU? Help!!!!

-------------------------
Opteron 170 at 2.6 GHZ Air | Cooler Master Stacker Mid Tower | Sapphire X1900XTX 512 <br>Two WD 74gb 10,000RPM Sata | CORSAIR XMS 2GB DDR 433<br>ASUS Black DVD Burner 5X DVD-RAM | ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED 92mm<br>Asus A8N32-SLI Premium | SB X-FI Extreme Music
 03/05/2006 01:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
scott559
Senior Member

Posts: 583
Joined: 04/26/2005

See my sig, I am running everything with a 460watt PSU that puts out 15a on each rail, The CPU is O.Ced, The video card is O.Ced. I rarely ever hear the fan kick up on the Psu to show that it is under any real strain. I play Fear/BF2 with no problems at all. Now I sure wouldn't want to try and run Sli with my current power setup, However I feel pretty confident I am good to go for any current single card setup. So you should be in fine shape with the Antec, Nice PSU.

-------------------------
Opteron 165/Epox 9nPA+Ultra mb/Freezer 64 Pro/2x512 ballistix/Evga 78gt/Benq 19"Lcd/W.D. 250gb Sata 3.0/Fortron Ax500a/X-fi Extreme/Logitech x530/Centurion 532
 03/05/2006 01:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

It will run your rig fine. Thats an SLI rated PSU that is built to handle 2 cards and 2x19V rails is great. The Enermax Liberty has 2x20V rails if you think you need more juice. But the Antec will work fine.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 03/05/2006 01:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hassanbigboss
Member

Posts: 74
Joined: 11/30/2005

Hey thanks guys.....I really am not good with power supplies. I am kind of new to this stuff so please excuse my illeteracy about computers. Thats the reason I come and post here because I know you guys will always help,

-------------------------
Opteron 170 at 2.6 GHZ Air | Cooler Master Stacker Mid Tower | Sapphire X1900XTX 512 <br>Two WD 74gb 10,000RPM Sata | CORSAIR XMS 2GB DDR 433<br>ASUS Black DVD Burner 5X DVD-RAM | ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED 92mm<br>Asus A8N32-SLI Premium | SB X-FI Extreme Music
 03/05/2006 10:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

antec are very good PSUs. th new series of cards consume a tad less power than previous videocards, and those did perfectly when having 26A more or less. that will hold perfectly.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 03/05/2006 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

Hw many watts, hassanbigboss? Aside from the amps, the card requires a minimum of 450W.

-------------------------
 03/05/2006 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

The wattage requirements are rated high, so that people with less then great PSU's can use them. Look at Shuttles, I have personally seen them running overclocked Clawhammer FX-55's (higher power consumption then San Diegos) and 6800Ultras (which consume more power then 7800GTXs) running perfectly fine on a 300watt shuttle PSU.

It's the quality, not the quantity. Plus, quality PSUs are generally underrated.

-Adam
 03/06/2006 12:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hassanbigboss
Member

Posts: 74
Joined: 11/30/2005

Silk I agree with you on the quality issue. Thats the reason I wanted your guys opinion about this PSU, I guess it turns out this one is okay.

-------------------------
Opteron 170 at 2.6 GHZ Air | Cooler Master Stacker Mid Tower | Sapphire X1900XTX 512 <br>Two WD 74gb 10,000RPM Sata | CORSAIR XMS 2GB DDR 433<br>ASUS Black DVD Burner 5X DVD-RAM | ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED 92mm<br>Asus A8N32-SLI Premium | SB X-FI Extreme Music
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information