AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: HD tach benchmark.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/29/2006 12:19 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/30/2006 06:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdG
Senior Member

Posts: 1592
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster
Ive been able to run this thing on my Seagate and Western Dig, but the hitachi isnt recognized, and it runs the test, then I get an exeption error at the end, wtf?

Have you checked the drive for errors lately? Closest reply I could find to the bench not finishing was this one.




 04/30/2006 06:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TridenT_Boy3555
Senior Member

Posts: 2557
Joined: 12/26/2005

YEAHH!!! W00T!!11!1!111!



-------------------------

My signature is environmentally friendly. Is yours?
 04/30/2006 07:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jwsm
Senior Member

Posts: 491
Joined: 08/02/2004

Here is mine with two Seagate 160's in raid 0 32K stripe:



-------------------------
There are two kinds of people in the computing world.....those who have lost data, and those who will.
If your data is worth anything, back it up!
 04/30/2006 10:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: EdG
Have you checked the drive for errors lately? Closest reply I could find to the bench not finishing was this one.




Well crap, I hope not /sleep.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="-_-" border="0" alt="sleep.gif" />

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/01/2006 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
V-Tec
Senior Member

Posts: 294
Joined: 05/19/2004

Update: 2x Hitachi 7K80 Raid 0



-------------------------
asdfasdfasdf
 05/01/2006 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

WOW I am seeing that the raid 0 is realy fast ! I need to get another HDD for mine and raid 0 it !

P.S. thank you EdG for keeping the score . I got to tell you your the best at this !

Just one question can you raid IDE HDD's?? any know how ?

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 05/01/2006 08:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jwsm
Senior Member

Posts: 491
Joined: 08/02/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: trickson Just one question can you raid IDE HDD's?? any know how ?
Sure can, but in order to get the max performance, do not put the drives on the same channel.

Edit: And, yes, thanks to EdG for taking the time to compile the list and keep it updated. He is doing a wonderful job!

-------------------------
There are two kinds of people in the computing world.....those who have lost data, and those who will.
If your data is worth anything, back it up!
 05/01/2006 09:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: jwsm
Sure can, but in order to get the max performance, do not put the drives on the same channel.



Do they 'Have' to be identical drives?

and is there anyway to check my hitachis health?

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/01/2006 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jwsm
Senior Member

Posts: 491
Joined: 08/02/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster
Do they 'Have' to be identical drives?

and is there anyway to check my hitachis health?

No, they do not 'have' to be identical, but the use of identical drives is highly recommended for optimum performance.

-------------------------
There are two kinds of people in the computing world.....those who have lost data, and those who will.
If your data is worth anything, back it up!
 05/01/2006 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdG
Senior Member

Posts: 1592
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: trickson
P.S. thank you EdG for keeping the score . I got to tell you your the best at this !

quote:

Originally posted by: jwsm
Edit: And, yes, thanks to EdG for taking the time to compile the list and keep it updated. He is doing a wonderful job!
Thanks for the kind words guys!

quote:

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster
and is there anyway to check my hitachis health?

Check the drive manufactors site for diagnostic software, I used one from IBM for windows which seemed pretty nice, SpeedFan has SMART info built in too which shoes health of the drive. Hopefully its just a bug in HD Tach and your drive checks out OK!
 05/01/2006 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moose64
Senior Member

Posts: 836
Joined: 03/26/2005



-------------------------
Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 ,Xeon x3360
Cooler Master COSMOS Case,
4G OCZ DDR3 1600 2x2G 7.6.6.24 @2T
HIS 3870x2
WD 150G Raptor x2 0Raid & WD 250G Storage Drive.
Antec Quattro 1000Watt PS
Vista 64Bit.
 05/04/2006 09:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ncc-1709
Senior Member

Posts: 596
Joined: 12/25/2005

you lot are gonna like my new HD.



-------------------------
Intel E6700 Core2Duo 3.45Ghz
G'byte 965P-DS4 s775
Corsair TwinX DDR2 PC6400 C4 (500 @ 4-4-4-6/ 600 @ 5-7-7-20)
7800 gtx xxx
Passive/chiller water system
 05/04/2006 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

nice photoshop job.

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 05/04/2006 07:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ncc-1709
Senior Member

Posts: 596
Joined: 12/25/2005

100% genuine.
ive seen them as high a 4gb/s. but you need ddr 2 for that, or just much higher bandwidth that ive presently got.

-------------------------
Intel E6700 Core2Duo 3.45Ghz
G'byte 965P-DS4 s775
Corsair TwinX DDR2 PC6400 C4 (500 @ 4-4-4-6/ 600 @ 5-7-7-20)
7800 gtx xxx
Passive/chiller water system
 05/04/2006 08:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bolean59
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 12/10/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: CoolDudePT
Hm... my HDD is nothing out of this world, but I seem to have the best scores so far... any chance this program doesn't work properly?
...



typical RAID0 performance graph...
 05/04/2006 08:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: ncc-1709
you lot are gonna like my new HD.




what is this supposed to be? RAM?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 05/04/2006 09:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ncc-1709
Senior Member

Posts: 596
Joined: 12/25/2005

its called a ram disk drive. it uses ram as a Hd and you can install windows onto it(as long as its small enough)
its a method thats been out years, but not used too mcuuh due to the cost of 20gb or ram.

it gives one [content edited] of a performance boost as long as you have the ram space for it.

-------------------------
Intel E6700 Core2Duo 3.45Ghz
G'byte 965P-DS4 s775
Corsair TwinX DDR2 PC6400 C4 (500 @ 4-4-4-6/ 600 @ 5-7-7-20)
7800 gtx xxx
Passive/chiller water system
 05/04/2006 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

ive heard of them, but i havent really seen any for a price that makes it worth it... is yours 512mb??? can you link me to it

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 05/04/2006 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdG
Senior Member

Posts: 1592
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: ncc-1709
its called a ram disk drive. it uses ram as a Hd and you can install windows onto it(as long as its small enough)
its a method thats been out years, but not used too mcuuh due to the cost of 20gb or ram.

it gives one [content edited] of a performance boost as long as you have the ram space for it.


I knew that was a ramdisk, I used to use one. I remember my brother had an external ramdisk on an Apple II and the computer would boot up in 2-3 seconds, programs stored on the ramdisk opened in a blink, I forget what he paid for that thing but I know ram was really expensive in those days!
 05/05/2006 06:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ncc-1709
Senior Member

Posts: 596
Joined: 12/25/2005

mine was free. just use a program called ram disk . lol

-------------------------
Intel E6700 Core2Duo 3.45Ghz
G'byte 965P-DS4 s775
Corsair TwinX DDR2 PC6400 C4 (500 @ 4-4-4-6/ 600 @ 5-7-7-20)
7800 gtx xxx
Passive/chiller water system
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » Desktop Specs & Component Recommendations » HD tach benchmark.

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information