AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Need mobo for an Athlon 64 3500+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/20/2006 05:05 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/21/2006 12:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

SLI-DR if youre cool

EDIT notice no monkeying with shift and -

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/21/2006 12:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

QUOTE(TheReturnOfAZ @ Jan 20 2006, 09:48 PM)SLI-DR if youre cool

EDIT notice no monkeying with shift and -
[right][snapback]600687[/snapback][/right]

Ahh. I understand. The lazymans dfi name!

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 01/21/2006 12:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

not lazy, COOL!

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/21/2006 12:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superballz00
Senior Member

Posts: 1207
Joined: 08/16/2004

A little off topic but have you flashed your x800GTO2 to get 16 pipelines yet?
 01/21/2006 12:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

QUOTE(superballz00 @ Jan 20 2006, 09:57 PM)A little off topic but have you flashed your x800GTO2 to get 16 pipelines yet?
[right][snapback]600698[/snapback][/right]

I don't think he's even got his stuff yet.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 01/21/2006 01:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

we're forgetting his power supply needs, also, I suppose the general assumption has been that the A64 3500 is a socket 939, what if it's 754?

if it is a socket 939, and he gets an nforce 4 board, he's going to need another psu if his current one doesn't have a 24-pin connector. and if he goes DFI, isn't he going to have to have a 480w psu? or is that just for the slider (and it's ludicrous amount of motherboard connections)?

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 01/21/2006 01:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Shhh! (we're trying to fool him into buying the wrong board!...

[255], do you have a PayPal account? My girlfriend will give you $9.

 01/25/2006 03:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

QUOTE(ninjastyle @ Jan 20 2006, 10:20 PM)Shhh! (we're trying to fool him into buying the wrong board!...

[255], do you have a PayPal account? My girlfriend will give you $9.
[right][snapback]600724[/snapback][/right]



God this is a late reply.

Thanks ninja but never in my life have I ever excepted a handout and although I do appriciate the offer I'm afraid I can't take you up on it. I'll find a way to get a good board. Although I forgot I'll be needing a 24 pin connector on my PSU so I think I should go and check that.. gorramit.... *sigh*.. I believe I do have a 24pin I'm just not positive about it.


Thanks for all your help guys. It seems like the board that's 9 dollars to much is the one I'll get... Once I can convince my wife that it is the board I need (read: must have or I will be unhappy for the next 10 months with super kung-fu guilt trip action.)

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 01/25/2006 03:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Good luck, dude. Hope you get it. Keep us informed!

 01/25/2006 03:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

DFI you never go back if you get 1 /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />

thats what logitech says about there keyboard ill soon find out (G-15) /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />
 01/25/2006 03:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
scott559
Senior Member

Posts: 583
Joined: 04/26/2005

QUOTE([255] @ Jan 25 2006, 12:18 AM)God this is a late reply.

Thanks ninja but never in my life have I ever excepted a handout and although I do appriciate the offer I'm afraid I can't take you up on it.  I'll find a way to get a good board.  Although I forgot I'll be needing a 24 pin connector on my PSU so I think I should go and check that.. gorramit....  *sigh*..  I believe I do have a 24pin I'm just not positive about it.
Thanks for all your help guys.  It seems like the board that's 9 dollars to much is the one I'll get... Once I can convince my wife that it is the board I need (read: must have or I will be unhappy for the next 10 months with super kung-fu guilt trip action.)
[right][snapback]604563[/snapback][/right]



My honest input, Yes the DFI boards are nice, However you can also get other good boards, Not everyone needs to get every last mhz out of their CPU, Also it seems folks seem to disregard when people say they have a budget. I have a wife and family and I understand that you have to priortize how you spend your money. I went with the Epox 9NPA+ultra board, It was $105, It has excellent O.C.ing features in the bios and is a nice stable board. There are others out there as well. IMO you can get a very nice board within your budget parameters, You will be happy with your new motherboard and your wife will be pleased that you didn't go over budget.

-------------------------
Opteron 165/Epox 9nPA+Ultra mb/Freezer 64 Pro/2x512 ballistix/Evga 78gt/Benq 19"Lcd/W.D. 250gb Sata 3.0/Fortron Ax500a/X-fi Extreme/Logitech x530/Centurion 532
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information