AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: CPU won't clock at designed speed
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/24/2007 08:14 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/24/2007 08:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Oregunduck
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/24/2007

I installed a 2400 Athlon XP CPU and the BIOS reads it as a Duron CPU and won't let me clock it to the 2000 mhz. It will crash if clocked past 1500 mhz. My old 1600 Athlon XP CPU dropped to 1000 mhz. With the same problem. Is there a way to get the mother board to see the CPU as an athlon XP rather than a Duron processor? At the boot page it shows the CPU as Athlon 1800+. When I set the bios to 133/133 on boot it shows the CPU as athlon 2000+, though the bios still indivcates Duron. Of coarse the system is unstable and crashes at the start of any application. THis all occured when I upgraded my power supply for a video card requirement. I thought the problem was the power supply and replaced it with a 500W thinking the 450 was too close to the bottom end of the requirement. I have been incontact with the ESC mother boad folks and they have been no help.
 02/24/2007 08:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

I highly suspect that its your motherboard. Could you get us the model number of this motherboard?

-------------------------
 02/24/2007 10:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

1. Your board may be older then the CPU you are trying to put in. Try flashing the latest BIOS, if you haven't already.
2. What PSU is this? What videocard did you upgrade too?

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 02/25/2007 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Check the capacitors on the motherboard for signs of swelling and/or leakage. http://www.badcaps.net/

If it's an older board the power supply upgrade may not have helped as the older boards used the 5V rail extensively, unlike later boards which use the +12V mostly. Newer power supplies tend to be weighted to the +12V rail(s).

The Rebels Haven has lots of info on ECS socket A boards. http://www.rebelshavenforum.co...n/ul...i?ubb=forum;f=1

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information