AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Recommended Server motherboard for AMD Opteron 2378 Processor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/17/2009 11:47 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/17/2009 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ngurjar
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/17/2009

Hi,
I want to buy AMD Opteron 2378 for using as a Linux server.
I check there are multiple vendors who provide motherboard for above processor.
Can anybody please guide regarding Server board?
Which board will be better for above processor?

Regards
Neel
 10/01/2009 09:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

I would look at SuperMicro's and TYAN's websites. They sell quite a few motherboards that work well with the Opteron 2378 under Linux. Any of their units that have support for 45 nm CPUs (which should be almost all of them) will run the 2378 well.

EDIT: Both vendors are coming out with new AMD SR5690/SP5100-based motherboards for Socket F. Those will be a lot nicer than their current NVIDIA nForce 3600-based units, so keep an eye out for their boards with AMD chipsets.

-------------------------
 11/20/2009 01:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Anthoance52
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/18/2009

I am looking at the possibilities of building a super high performance PC and am considering using a server motherboard because of the massice RAM capabilities and dual quad-core CPUs. If i build a PC around this, would I have to load a server OS, or could I load Vista Ultimate?

-------------------------
I was a smoker earlier but not any more. This is how I was able to quit smoking.
Visit US : http://www.stop-smoking-updates.com/quitsmoking/
 11/21/2009 08:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Windows Vista Ultimate can run on machines with up to two sockets and 32 cores, so you will be fine to use that OS on a dual quad-core server.

-------------------------
 01/26/2010 05:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
feedmebits
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/26/2010

Originally posted by: MU_Engineer

I would look at SuperMicro's and TYAN's websites. They sell quite a few motherboards that work well with the Opteron 2378 under Linux. Any of their units that have support for 45 nm CPUs (which should be almost all of them) will run the 2378 well.



EDIT: Both vendors are coming out with new AMD SR5690/SP5100-based motherboards for Socket F. Those will be a lot nicer than their current NVIDIA nForce 3600-based units, so keep an eye out for their boards with AMD chipsets.


I have a question about the same topic. I'm wanting top buy the AMD Opteron 2378. But I haven't yet found alot of motherboards for it. Only two I've found these two so far.

http://www.cool-prices.nl/nl/p...a-gc330d-619922

http://www.cool-prices.nl/nl/p...-2-e-atx-541628


I can't find any specs on that board so I'm not sure about that one and the second board is way above my price limit. Are there anymore boards out yet that with Socket F?
 01/26/2010 05:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
feedmebits
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/26/2010

I found a solution. I decided to go with a different processor.

http://www.cool-prices.nl/nl/p...2mb-ht3-75w-box-597830
 01/26/2010 08:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

I don't know what your budget is or what motherboard availability is in the Netherlands, but I'd look at something like the Supermicro H8DIi series, which run about US$300-360 in the U.S. Supermicro makes a whole line of new Socket F boards, but most of the rest of them (H8DAi, etc.) cost US$400 and above.

The CPU you listed is a single-socket Opteron. It will run in less-expensive Socket AM2+ and AM3 boards, but you can only run one of them.

-------------------------
 01/26/2010 08:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
feedmebits
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/26/2010

thanks for the advice

I found a nice motherboard that looks pretty good with my little hardware knowledge. how's this one in combination with the processor I mentioned?

http://www.cool-prices.nl/nl/p...luxe-%28ddr3%29-509604
 01/26/2010 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

It should work well. The ASUS board support ECC RAM, so it's even more appropriate.

Alternatively, you could get a "real" AM3 server board like the TYAN S8005 series, but since the ASUS board supports ECC RAM, I don't think you'd have much to gain from doing so.

-------------------------
 01/27/2010 03:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
feedmebits
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/26/2010

thanks MU_Engineer
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information