AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Tyan Tiger K8W
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/05/2004 09:34 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/05/2004 09:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jklincewicz
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/03/2004

The Tyan site lists compatible memory by Vendor # and searching those sends me either to RAM manufacturers like Samsung, or to sites in New Zealand. Can ANYBODY recommend what memory sticks to use in a dual-Opteron Tiger K8W ??

I've seen differing opinions, for example on Corsair XMS, where one site says it ran great, and other says timings were too "bleeding-edge"..

Does anybody have this board running who can recommedn what kind of registered DDR I might use ??

TIA
 05/05/2004 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

I have personaly validated memory on the Tyan board.

There are three companies to look at:

Samsung
Micron
Infinion

As far as what dimms to choose, it depends on how much memory you want.

Basicly you want them as "light" as possible.
That means x4 dimms, rather then x8 dimms.
(Also often refered to as Single Sided, and Double Sided)

Micron has a great webpage listing the specs of all their dimms.

If you need lots of dimm, you will probably be limited to 333mhz.

Also don't worry about getting a "Brand" such as Kingston or Corsair, both those companies are "Value added" retailers that sell re-branded, or custom-built dimms with Samsung, Micron, or some other companies chips.

Personaly I find micron and Samsung very close, with Samsung being better for "Light loads" and Micron being better at "Heavy loads"

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/05/2004 03:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jklincewicz
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/03/2004

Thanks ... That narrows things down a bit, but my issue remains that the companies you mentioned do not sell directly to end-users (to my knowledge.)

If anyone can give me a part number & vendor who sells DIMMS based on Samsung, Micron or Infineon I can go ahead and place an order.

For example, does this :

DIMM Supplier' ">http://www.xpcgear.com/512ss400eccr.html
look like a legitimate Samsung-based part ??


I am looking at populating to 1GB, so I guess a pair of 512MBs would be more cost-effective than 4X128 ??

Thanks,
Jan
 05/06/2004 09:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

you want to try and get 'matched pair' ram sticks. try looking on http://www.pricewatch.com' ">http://www.pricewatch.com then under system memory, then pc3200 1G... you'll be able to narrow your search for samsung or whatever your looking for. most 1G listed are paired sticks, which is good. they also list manufacture part no. and/or chip no. this way you can match it better on tyans website.

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 05/06/2004 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (jklincewicz @ May 5 2004, 11:55 AM)
I am looking at populating to 1GB, so I guess a pair of 512MBs would be more cost-effective than 4X128 ??

Well, yes they don't sell directly to end users.

I know Corsair uses Samsung almost exclusivly.

Kingston uses Samsung, Micron, and a few others.

I know my Kingston HyperX Registered DDR at home is a re-branded Samsung.
(Samsung is printed onto the PCB)


A pair of 512MB could be the same as 4x128's, as far as loading the bus electricaly.

For example, the 512MB could be x8 dimms, with 2, you have a load of 16
The 128MB's could be x4 dimms, but with 4 of them you get 16 still.

So yes, it is better to get the 512MB sticks, as you could add more later.
But then again, just two 512mb's could be as much as the bus could handle.


-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information