AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Forum Powered By AMD
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/06/2003 04:34 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/06/2003 04:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PY 222
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/06/2003

Have you guys look at the specs for the monster that is powering this forum?

QUOTE Our forum server features:

Dual AMD Opteron 242 processors

36GB Maxtor Atlas™ 15K SCSI Hard Drives

Ultra320 SCSI two-channel controller

8GB ECC RAM

Dual Gigabit Ethernet NICs

64-bit Linux Operating System (see below)

1U height, rack mount compact chassis



Wow... now lets us try to stress test this beast!

More at http://forums.amd.com/sponsors/' ">http://forums.amd.com/sponsors/
 10/08/2003 06:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

well it says 36GB Maxtor Atlas™ 15K SCSI Hard Drives...so i assume it's more than just one HDD
maybe they have a NAS or something, too

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/08/2003 06:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dave Graham
Senior Member

Posts: 351
Joined: 10/05/2003

They're probably running a RAID 5 array with the drives...

that's just my guess.

cheers,

dave

-------------------------
----------
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
-----------
Owner, Webmaster
Flickerdown Data Systems' ">http://www.flickerdown.com/stewks/
"The Fusion of Hardware and Life"
 10/08/2003 10:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ruzhyo
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 10/08/2003

Well this forum sure seems zippy compared to some others! I remember reading some reviews where dual opterons were stressed running a forum with like 1000 posts per second or something in this benchmark....



I highly doubt we'll be able to make this system sweat

-------------------------
:: MadOnion
3DMark 2001' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6959323
3DMark03' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=1250037
 10/08/2003 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dave Graham
Senior Member

Posts: 351
Joined: 10/05/2003

not a chance...

but, it's good to know the horsepower is there...all we need now is an AMD sponsored HL/CS/RTCW:ET server!

cheers,

dave

-------------------------
----------
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
-----------
Owner, Webmaster
Flickerdown Data Systems' ">http://www.flickerdown.com/stewks/
"The Fusion of Hardware and Life"
 10/09/2003 03:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MarlboroMan
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/29/2003

I'd volunteer to administer that system.

-------------------------
Brandon Ewing
NOC Engineer
www.fastservers.net' ">http://www.fastservers.net
 10/09/2003 06:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kiddy
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/08/2003

I'd like to see an 8-Way 844 Server tho
 10/09/2003 06:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dagalidis
Senior Member

Posts: 243
Joined: 10/07/2003

Until now seems to run VERY FAST.....
Lets stress a litle more.....

-------------------------
ATHLON64 3200+@2380(238X10) 1.644 Vcore Cooling By AMD Stock Heatsink ASUS K8V Deluxe (VIA K8T800 Chipset) 256x2 TWINMOS PC3700 5-3-2-2.5 at 2.8V Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2 Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS LEADTEK FX5900 128MB My ViVo
<span style='co
 10/09/2003 06:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kiddy
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/08/2003

Ur damn right it's fast...as soon as I click on Submit Reply it's already there
 10/09/2003 06:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dagalidis
Senior Member

Posts: 243
Joined: 10/07/2003

As many users - member are online at the same time as Stress we put on the Server....
But still is going VERY Fast Compared with other Servers on the NET....

Also Linux64 Just LOVE Opterons

-------------------------
ATHLON64 3200+@2380(238X10) 1.644 Vcore Cooling By AMD Stock Heatsink ASUS K8V Deluxe (VIA K8T800 Chipset) 256x2 TWINMOS PC3700 5-3-2-2.5 at 2.8V Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2 Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS LEADTEK FX5900 128MB My ViVo
<span style='co
 10/09/2003 11:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian
Member

Posts: 98
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Ruzhyo @ Oct 8 2003, 10:27 PM) Well this forum sure seems zippy compared to some others! I remember reading some reviews where dual opterons were stressed running a forum with like 1000 posts per second or something in this benchmark....



I highly doubt we'll be able to make this system sweat
how are we gonna make 1000 posts a second anyway?

-------------------------
Folding For Team AnandTech Distributed Computing' ">http://forums.anandtech.com/categories.cfm?catid=39

My Humble Forums' ">http://forums.hellstormraiders.com
 10/09/2003 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ALIEN3001
Senior Member

Posts: 315
Joined: 10/07/2003

It seems fast even on my dial-up
Can't wait for DSL

-------------------------
{Signature removed. Please read the Forum Rules and Guidelines regarding signatures}
http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=boardrules
 10/10/2003 11:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kiddy
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (Support 1 @ Oct 9 2003, 10:04 AM) The system specs displayed on the Site Sponsors page is for each server. Currently there are 2 servers configured for primary and failover. Therefore, if one server goes down, the other will take over. There are also 2 drives in each system in case 1 drive fails the 2nd will take over.

Our sponsors have been very good in helping us set up powerful systems to bring you this forum.

Enjoy the forums.
Wow, 2?? Thanks for the information!
 10/11/2003 05:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

yup ... thanks 4 the info dude

suse linux enterprise server 8 is good choice ... more powerful than other the NET server ...

i a good collaboration between amd and linux

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information