AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dual MP2800+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/10/2003 06:52 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/10/2003 06:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Splatchhh
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/09/2003

Chieftec full tower.
5 case fans, Papst 8412N/2GL, 12 dB, 3 blow in, 2 out.
Sygmatek PSU for, HD, FD, CDRW, DVD and case fans.
Chieftec 420 W PSU active PFC for MB, PCI cards, CPU and CPU fans, no PSU fan control.
MSI K7 D Master L, bios 1.82b with dual MP 2800+.
Thermalright SLK-947U witk Akasa 60-80 fan adaptor and Papst 8412NGN,26dB.
Matrox Parhelia 128 with Zalman ZM80C-HP and Papst 3412N/2GL, 23 dB
Adaptec 29160 SCSI PCI card on slot 2
Maxtor Atlas 10kIII, 18,4 Go U160 (Really great)
IBM Ultrastar 73 LZX 18,3 Go U160 (Really noisy)
Pioneer DVD 305S, SCSI
Yamaha CRW 2100 S, SCSI
No IDE device, no USB device
Cherry FTSC G81-3000 keyboard, PS2
Wacom Intuos 2 A4 , mouse, pen and tablet, serial connector.
Dual Eizo Flexscan F784-T, 21” CRT monitors
Windows XP sp 1

I just use it for 2d work
Not so easy to install dual SLK-947U because of place.
I can't work much longer than 10 minutes with AMD Ajigo MF033-032 genuine heatsink???But summer was very hot here.
How to know if 29160 card works on 66Mhz, 64 bit?
There is 2 processor drivers in XP sp1; Which one is the best?
System32\DRIVERS\processr.sys
System32\DRIVERS\amdk7.sys

With my "old" XP2100, Windows update twice this driver.

Sincerely,
 10/10/2003 07:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

sweet!
do you have pics? i would love to see your mobo with 2 SLK-947U's

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/10/2003 11:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

Yeah, we want PICs!!!!

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/10/2003 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fmerante
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 10/06/2003

What do you mean you can't work on it for more than 10 mins? Where do you live?

Does it crash/lock up?

That's a serious problem for such a nice machine. My dual Athlon sounds like a bloody Lancaster bomber but it stays relativelys cool.

My CPU temps go from 38 - 45 C.

Frank
 10/11/2003 05:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Splatchhh
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/09/2003

No troubles today,
system temp ; 20° C
CPU1 ; 39° C
CPU2 ; 40° C
with SLK945-U.
But two months ago, here in France, the system temperature was about 38° C and the system hang with a CPU warningTemp. of 70° C.
That's the way, difference between CPU temp and system temp can't be linear.
 10/11/2003 05:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Moocowsia
Member

Posts: 53
Joined: 10/06/2003

I think its time for a bigger PSU.

-------------------------
Wait a second... What was Professor Utonium doing making little girls in the first place???
MadOnion
2K3 Compare' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=1203048
 10/12/2003 02:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Splatchhh
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/09/2003

Why two PSU I presume ?
I start with one 365 Enermax and the system crash.
Most of the devices start and stop now and they are all plug at the same place when you use only one PSU (inside of course). Even with a good one, the voltage can't be stable. CPU need power and stability.
 10/13/2003 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

What 2d work do you use it for? Photoshop?
 10/14/2003 10:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Splatchhh
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/09/2003

Photoshop6, Indesign2, Illuustrator9 and a little CAD
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information