AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 3dsmax homebred workstation
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/11/2003 04:03 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/11/2003 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

Athlon XP 1700+ @ 215x11 = 2.37 Ghz
8RDA+ Revision 1 n.b. voltmod @ 1.84V
Samsung DDR400 CAS3 @ DDR430 CAS 2.5
Sapphire Radeon 9500 @ FireGL X1. GPU @ 425, MEM @ 290 (yeah yeah I'll voltmod it later)
Maxtor 120 GB PATA

CPU, north bridge, GPU cooled by custom watercooling

Works great! So stable it's even weird
 10/13/2003 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...n/te...rcooling_00.JPG' ">http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...mp/watercooling_00.JPG

http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...n/te...rcooling_01.JPG' ">http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...mp/watercooling_01.JPG

http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...n/te...rcooling_02.JPG' ">http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...mp/watercooling_02.JPG

http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...n/te...rcooling_03.JPG' ">http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...mp/watercooling_03.JPG

And this is what I drew yesterday on it:

http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...n/te...0_1024x0768.jpg' ">http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...ckman_00_1024x0768.jpg

[it has an AMD sign]
 10/14/2003 03:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

Looking good. Never ben brave enuff to put water in my PC yet Thet Fan looks like it's lost amongst all that water cooled greatness. Nice pic too btw

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/14/2003 03:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dagalidis
Senior Member

Posts: 243
Joined: 10/07/2003

Too much water out there....
But are your waterblocks safe with those plastic locks ??
I dont think you have the best contact between Waterblock and CPU - CHIPSET - GPU surface.....

-------------------------
ATHLON64 3200+@2380(238X10) 1.644 Vcore Cooling By AMD Stock Heatsink ASUS K8V Deluxe (VIA K8T800 Chipset) 256x2 TWINMOS PC3700 5-3-2-2.5 at 2.8V Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2 Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS LEADTEK FX5900 128MB My ViVo
<span style='co
 10/14/2003 05:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

u mean leaking dagalidis

da only reason why I more prefer to use aircooler up-till now is leaking

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/15/2003 01:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

I think it's pretty safe. Those things are very strong. Just try them for various things.. unbreakable
 10/15/2003 04:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Nice setup you got there, Ivan. It's too bad you don't have a Barton under there. You could take that thing to sick speeds with that type of cooling

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/15/2003 04:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

Ardrid ... as far as I know ( AFAIK ) ... Athlon 1700 is incredible product to be in overclocking ... superb product ....

Here I posted one sample datasheet from overclockers.com :

4712Ghz | 2.25V | DL3TC 0311 code | Abit NF7-S Rev2.0 Bios Version1.4 |Kryotech G2 | 19368 id |




-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/15/2003 04:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

So ...I think it is not necessary for Ivan to upgrade his 1700 TB into Barton ...

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/15/2003 03:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Maybe not, but to hit that type of speed, which seems unattainable to me, he'd need no less than LN2 (liquid nitrogen).

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/15/2003 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (Ardrid @ Oct 15 2003, 11:15 AM) Maybe not, but to hit that type of speed, which seems unattainable to me, he'd need no less than LN2 (liquid nitrogen).
yes I know ardrid ... this is only sample for us ... to let us know that this product is superb ( I guess ) ...

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/18/2003 02:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

Way ahead of ya guys.. I am putting a 2500+ in there tomorrow. If it does more than 2.4 ghz, it's staying there Cache is good for professional applications and basically everything I do here.

1700+ overclocks better than the first Bartons, but worse than the newest ones that are around right now. My buddy got a Barton 2500+ @ 2.3 Ghz at stock voltage with stock cooler.

Stay tuned...

BTW, this computer gets 18000+ in 3DMark2003 when the videocard is running as Radeon 9700.
 10/18/2003 03:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Nice. I'm sure you won't be disappointed

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/19/2003 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

Well I tried that Barton - decided that if it's good, I'll keep it and if not, I'll keep my Tbred.

Crappy results! It could do 2.0 Ghz @ 1.75 V and 2.1 Ghz @ 1.85 V at which point I quit and put my old trusty Tbred in.

Better luck next time

PS - I upgraded my memory to 2 x Kingston HyperX 256MB PC3500 and it now runs at 5-2-2-2 at 217 FSB sync.
 10/20/2003 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...n/te...ec_01_small.jpg' ">http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...emp/antec_01_small.jpg

http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...n/te...ec_02_small.jpg' ">http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...emp/antec_02_small.jpg

http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...n/te...ec_03_small.jpg' ">http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...emp/antec_03_small.jpg

http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...n/te...ec_04_small.jpg' ">http://members.shaw.ca/andrew-...emp/antec_04_small.jpg

Ok so now I put it into my new Antec case. People can't tell it's on it's so quiet
 10/20/2003 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

is there any different temp, if you aircooler than watercooler ... ? and how is the result ?

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/20/2003 11:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

I'm sorry people but that 4.7 AMD proc is a little unbelievable. Isn't that like a 200% overclock. Thats soooo much. We need to get that guy in the forums to start foldin for us. Nice watercooled right. I'm gonna get some pics of mine pretty soon and post em.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 10/21/2003 02:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

I haven't figured out the effect on the temp yet. I just have 1 case fan cooling the harddrives for now. It's at 12V. I guess I will eventually find some time to make all of them to 7V or 5V and then I'll have 3 cause you can't really hear that anyway.

However, it's now got so much more room inside and finally looks decent! I am happy with this case.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information