AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: My Database and Mailserver, my Network
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/08/2003 09:29 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/08/2003 09:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
the_voyager
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/08/2003

now, here is my second Server:

AMD 2500+ Barton
Asus A7N8x Mainboard
3x 512MB Infineon Memory
60GB Harddisk
15GB Backup harddisk for Ghost Images
Geforce 3 - it is a old card that i dont use in a other sys from me
Intel 1000+T Gigabit Network Interface



and finally a pic of my Network Connectivity:

1x 4 Port Gigabit Switch
1x 24Port 10/100 Switch, next week 24x 10/100 + 2x 10/100/1000 Switch
1x Wavelan 11 Mbit Access Point
(not on pic) 1 Internet Router (US Robotics) for ADSL

 10/11/2003 06:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

whoa thats some serious Networking-stuff
what average transfer rate do you get on your Gigabit-Ethernet?(you can bench it /w Sandra 2004)

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/11/2003 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
the_voyager
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (Hellraiser @ Oct 11 2003, 02:06 AM) whoa thats some serious Networking-stuff
what average transfer rate do you get on your Gigabit-Ethernet?(you can bench it /w Sandra 2004)
i´ve testet it bevore, and i get between the gigabit - hosts about 50-60mb/sec real during ftp transfer


hope this helps

voyager
 10/11/2003 08:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

i was just interested
i get 40-50MB/s between my two comps with cheap 32-bit PCI 1000BaseT gigabit-cards over Cat.5 Crossover... do you think using a switch makes much of a difference?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/12/2003 08:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
the_voyager
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (Hellraiser @ Oct 11 2003, 04:44 AM) i was just interested
i get 40-50MB/s between my two comps with cheap 32-bit PCI 1000BaseT gigabit-cards over Cat.5 Crossover... do you think using a switch makes much of a difference?
there is no difference, there are a few other problems :

1. hard disk speed
2. pci bus, 32bit isnt enough, you must use a 64bit or PCI-X system to get more speed
(my fileserver has a 64bit pci bus --> http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=563)' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=563)

the client harddisks also must have enough speed (i have a raid5 scsi system in my working client)
 10/12/2003 09:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

i totally forgot about the HDDs' transfer speeds being a factor to reduce performance why do they have to be so slow...ugh! lol

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/13/2003 04:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

Cool Mobo ... and nice equipment for Network ... Is it wireless



-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/14/2003 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
the_voyager
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (brian_brian @ Oct 13 2003, 12:22 AM) Cool Mobo ... and nice equipment for Network ... Is it wireless 
a part of the network (2 notebooks, 1 PDA) are wireless connected

and last weekend i finally finished my networking infrastructure

 10/14/2003 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (Greyhound @ Oct 11 2003, 04:44 AM) i was just interested
i get 40-50MB/s between my two comps with cheap 32-bit PCI 1000BaseT gigabit-cards over Cat.5 Crossover... do you think using a switch makes much of a difference?
The only difference with this method and using a switch, is that you can use more than just 2 PC's But yes, it depends on your NIC card, BUS Speed, HDD speed, and processor speeds. Max I've seen in Windows XP Pro is utilisation of 95% (in task Manager).

I've also transfered files via Firewire - Now that is fast - managed 300MBps speed Could not go 400 since one of the PC's were to slow. I would like to see a USB v2 file transfer that's 450MB methinks, But that also depends on how many devices are on your USB Hub.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/22/2003 01:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

The way you mounted the hard drive is actually pretty cool. But is there actually another one under it. And it looks to me that they are, but I hope they aren't, touching?

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 10/22/2003 01:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

You would be correct. There's a second one under their and they do in fact seem to be touching.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/22/2003 01:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

He might as well be lookin at the sun at noon, it just seems too risky.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 10/22/2003 03:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
the_voyager
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/08/2003

the 2 harddrives are only for a few hours in the case, because one of the drives is mine from my old server and i only copied the files to the new drive.

now the complete server i assembled it to a 19" case
 10/22/2003 10:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cprossu
Member

Posts: 136
Joined: 10/22/2003

nice network...mine is a little less tidy




mines a little....messier

and btw thats my folding array...
no P4's on it

-------------------------

-Folding@Home with 28 comps (20 are AMD) for Team FM
 10/23/2003 02:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

One question: How in the world do you live/move in there?

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/23/2003 02:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cprossu
Member

Posts: 136
Joined: 10/22/2003

actually i have cleaned my floor up since i took that pic

-------------------------

-Folding@Home with 28 comps (20 are AMD) for Team FM
 10/23/2003 11:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Good. I was about to say

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/23/2003 11:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cprossu
Member

Posts: 136
Joined: 10/22/2003




there now u can see more of it lol

-------------------------

-Folding@Home with 28 comps (20 are AMD) for Team FM
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information