AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Time to build a new FX workstation
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/15/2003 06:41 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/15/2003 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BEENTHERE
Senior Member

Posts: 1079
Joined: 10/10/2003

Well I don't know how much longer I'll be able to resist the temptation to build a new workstation with say an FX 61 (no typo) chippie and SUSE 9.0 Linux w/64 bit. This should create quite a WOW factor!

Since I will need to migrate some Windoze apps data to Linux and I'd prefer the Linux apps to be true Linux not converted Windoze crap code, I expect it'll take awhile to get what I really want. The hassle is always finding QUALITY software that looks and feels like Windoze apps now that Linux is becoming mainstream for the desktop. Otherwise you spend lotsa time and money training employees on new software.

Since this is an issue all businesses face, you'd think the Windoze app folks would be offering Linux software now. Of course they'd need to discard their Bug ridden Windoze code and start with good code for Linux, but at least they'd have market share in the Linux segment as Windoze dies a slow, painful death. I'm sure Microsoft will do all they can to discourage commercial application software development for Linux as it would be the bases to expedite the demise of Windoze.

Thankfully, we now have a practical choice.

-------------------------
If only they knew...
 10/15/2003 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

FX-61, eh? We're talking well into late next year if not Q1'05

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/15/2003 10:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BEENTHERE
Senior Member

Posts: 1079
Joined: 10/10/2003

NOT if you O/C an FX57 properly...

Stay tuned !

-------------------------
If only they knew...
 10/20/2003 11:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

lol, I love the way you think man. Sounds like a great idea. Can't wait to build my own FX system.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 10/28/2003 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

When you get SuSe up and running tell me what you think about it and how it works out for you, cause I'm thinkin about buying a copy of it myself.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 10/28/2003 12:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Well, if you're still around a year later I'm sure he'll do that.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information