AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: New Machine Specs / Need Help
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/25/2005 06:28 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/25/2005 06:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
liquidfrog
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/25/2005

Hello,

Have to say I have been an intel guy all my life. I really want to create a nice machine. Something that will last me awhile and have the ability to play STALKER when it finally comes out.

I do lots of web design and coding, so whatever you all suggest I need the video card to be mainstream enough so that it can handle longhorn when it comes out. I would like to have this machine before June 30th so I can then load the beta of longhorn. I currently have 5048 on my laptop, but would like to switch.

I have a 20" lcd panel already capapble of 1600x1200+ and I have the keyboard and mouse of choice along with a NAS device on the network. I would like the machine to take care of me for at least the next 2 years if possible and handle any new hardware for upgrades within the next year.

So if I could ask you all for your assistance on this it would be great. If you know any barebones systems that have the base I need and I can buy the extra parts, please let me know.

What I have so far is this:

mobo - http://www.dfi.com.tw/Product/...ct_s...TYPE=LP&SITE=NA' ">http://www.dfi.com.tw/Product/...TEGORY_TYPE=LP&SITE=NA

G70 - http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2...9/nv...xt_chip_cooler/' ">http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2...idia_next_chip_cooler/ - video

case - http://www.thermaltake.com/xas...rmor...a/va8000swa.htm' ">http://www.thermaltake.com/xas...a8000swa/va8000swa.htm

I am not really happy with the case as I am more business then gaming. However, I will play the occasional game and I would like it to run at 1280x1024 full if possible.

All I want is the best now and at least for a little while. Can you people help?

Please advise...

Kind regards,
Liquidfrog
 05/25/2005 07:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

consider a dual 265...
if you go with that DFI board, you'll be maxed out at 4 gigs of memory... see if you can find an iwill ES board... or some others with SLi, that are multi-core compatable.
a codegen S-201 server case would be wickedly impressive too!

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
 05/25/2005 09:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
liquidfrog
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/25/2005

Whoa.. Maybe I should have put this in the desktop area. I do appreciate your response. Really I do. But I do not need anything that extreme... If the moderators see this can you put it into desktops.

I really need a decent desktop.

Thanks again..

 06/03/2005 10:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

i was thinking desktop... just a wicked one.
that Tt case is even bigger than the YY...

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
 06/03/2005 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Super_Dude
Senior Member

Posts: 1078
Joined: 07/22/2004

Unless your going to get two and SLI them, their is no need for the SLI-DR
grab an Ultra-D insead.

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/superdude11

DFI NF3 Ultra-D
3200+ Venice
1GB(2x512) Gskill FX
Visiontek XTASY X850XTPE
Antec True 430w
300gb Maxtor
TDK 420-N DVD/+RW drive
 06/09/2005 02:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

yea...and i think 4 gigs is more then enough anyway. also, all 939 boards are compatible wth dual core, u jsu need a little BIOS update.

if u r doing al that, id suggest a multicore CPU....an Athlon X2 either 4400+ or 4800+. (those are the 2 with 1MB L2 cache on each core). they will give oustandin performance compared to intels dual core solution, and in genral also.



-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information