AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: dual processor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/29/2005 07:44 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/29/2005 07:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lifeline
Member

Posts: 62
Joined: 11/28/2004

what is the best dual processor setup and mobo, and what would be the bare minimum of work you would use it for to make it worth while?

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 05/30/2005 06:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

dual 265s in an iwill dk8es
http://www.watch.impress.co.jp...otli...mage/niwd7.html' ">http://www.watch.impress.co.jp...40911/image/niwd7.html
it has been noted that this board will gladly run multi-core processors...
use?
anything demanding mega multi-tasking... and demanding lots of physical memory...ie generating digital movies, large mathematical programs... anything that depends on stability.

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
 05/30/2005 06:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Black No.1
Member

Posts: 118
Joined: 12/18/2004

What are you using it for mostly, and when do you want to do on it occasionally?


-------------------------
Dual AMD MP 2800+ OC'd to 3.08 (140 x 22) Dual Vapochill
Gigabyte GA-7DPXDW+
1024 MB Kingston DDR Reg ECC 3200
Radeon 9800 128 Vram
2 x Maxtor 80 Gig ATA 133 8 M cache RAID 0
2 x Seagate 'cudas 80 Gig ATA 133 8 M cache RAID 0 (Swap + Junk)
1 Seagate 'cuda 80 Gig file storage
 06/01/2005 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Calvn_Swing
Senior Member

Posts: 293
Joined: 01/13/2004

I'm still partial to the Tyan Thunder K8WE for graphics work since it has real dual PCI-e x16 as opposed to just the connections but only x8 and x8 on the two different slots in dual mode.

If you aren't doing graphics work though, the Iwill is the way to go as it has PCI-e expansion slots and the Tyan doesn't.

Ahh the choices...

As for usage, if you're asking if you need it you probably don't. Seriously. I don't need mine (see sig) but man do I love it. (OK, I use it to its full potential occasionally)

As for the *best* I assume you mean fastest. Without more info that's all we can give you. The fastest would be the Iwill or Tyan dual PCI-e boards with Opteron 275s (265s would be awesome too, but not the fastest.) dual nVidia 6800 Ultras, and with all the memory slots occupied by 512Mb or 1Gig 2-3-2-6 registered Dimms. (See my signiture for my Ram - fastest settings I could find 4 months ago. Might be faster ones now. Remember they have to be registered/buffered though! Put in some WD 10Krpm Raptor SATA HDDs in RAID0 or some SCSI 15Krpm HDDs in RAID0 and you're set.

Of course, this will all cost you around 5 grand.

Here's a thought... Tell us what programs you are wanting to use, and how you use your current computer. Most importantly, say why you think you want a dual processor computer, and be honest. It is just plain cool. There are other reasons too of course. I just think all reasons are valid. Also, about what you're willing to spend. This way we can give you meaningful feedback and *best* won't just mean fastest.

Good luck!

-------------------------
Iwill Zmax DP SFF Barebones kit... (300W PSU, 8 USB, 1 FW, etc...)
Dual AMD Opteron 275's | 2 Gigs (2 Dimms 1024Mb) Patriot RAM 3-3-3-8
WD Caviar 80 Gig HDD - System
WD Raptor 74 Gig HDD
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256
NEC ND-3520A Dual Layer DVD±RW | Mitsumi Floppy/Card Reader combo
 07/10/2005 06:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lin83kuei
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/03/2005

I agree 2 275 will deliver enough power.I yet not satisfied try the 875 so you can have 4 Opterons thus having in reality 8 CPUs.If of course have the money for something like this.But in any case i think 2 275 should be enough.And the nVidia 7800 GTX are best money can buy also consider some nVidias Quadro cards and could also check the 3dlabs site.

-------------------------
I Love my PC
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information