AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Tyan MoBo and Opteron Q's...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/08/2005 04:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/08/2005 04:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

First off, are the dual core S939 Opteron's out? Second, can they be run in dual CPU configuration or does that deleted pin remove that configuration option?

I want to run no ECC memory (Corsair XMS-3500LL PRO) that's why the S939 question but I want 2 dual core Opterons so I may have to go with S940, I don't know what's coming out and this build can wait if it's coming out in the next few weeks or couple months.

Also, what Tyan MoBo is available, or any make for that matter, that offers the following:

True Dual 16X PCI-E Slots for SLI, nForce chipset is a plus but VIA will do.
On-board SCSI Raid controller and SATAII or SAS support also.
Also it needs to be S939 or S940 depending on the answer to my first qustion.

Thanks!

Also, can the Tyan boards run SCSI Raid 0 for the OS and also Raid 0 SATA drives for faster storage at the same time?

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 11/09/2005 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

I believe only 940s support SMP and dual cores. Most highend 940 boards require ECC Reg. RAM. You can disable ECC checking in BIOS. I would not recommend it. It does not slow gaming that much.

Tyan Thunder K8WE with SCSI: $600+
dual x16 PCIe, one on each CPU.
PCI-X 64/133 and 64/100
NUMA support and 128-bit Interleaved RAM support for higher bandwidth
Requires PC Power and Cooling SLI grade power supply

Yes, any board can run RAID 0 for OS. Only an extremely stupid person would run RAID 0 for OS. Lose one drive, you lost everything.

No onboard RAID can support multiple RAID arrays. Use a PCI-X SATA RAID controller from 3Ware. Do RAID 1 for OS and RAID 10 for apps, games.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 11/27/2005 07:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IATNOGPITW
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 04/25/2005

Yea, quick question: does a S939 board exist that has 2 CPU slots, but not just for Opterons? I haven't found one yet, but I also haven't searched too long.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information