AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon FX-53 in an Opteron motherboard (DK8X)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/10/2005 07:04 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/10/2005 07:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kot
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 03/10/2005

Hello! I'm building a new system and have bought the dual motherboard (IWill's DK8X' ">http://www.iwillusa.com/produc...ductDetail.asp?vID=182) and memory already (Mushkin's ECC, Registered' ">http://www.mushkin.com/epages/...75/Product/View/991143).

I need CPU(s). AMD is promising dual core ones this summer -- so can I get a single FX-53 instead of an Opteron in the mean time? Will it work in the dual motherboard?

When I get my first dual core Opteron, will the FX-53 work with it (resulting in a total of three processors)? If FX-53 will not, will today's real Opteron cooperate with the future dual-core Opteron to result in 3 CPU configuration?

Thanks!
 03/11/2005 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

one fx-53 will work, not all three... but there are so many matched sets of opterons floating around ebay...you'd be crazy not to at least look!
for 3-400 bucks you could get two 244-248's. that would definitely tie you over for a while! and sorry, dual 248's would trump a fx-53 in my book.

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
 03/11/2005 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Super_Dude
Senior Member

Posts: 1078
Joined: 07/22/2004

Why dont you try picking up a FX 51 for like 200-300 bucks on ebay. Would be cheaper and do almost the same while yo uwait for dual cores

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/superdude11

DFI NF3 Ultra-D
3200+ Venice
1GB(2x512) Gskill FX
Visiontek XTASY X850XTPE
Antec True 430w
300gb Maxtor
TDK 420-N DVD/+RW drive
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information