AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: ECC work around?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/13/2006 10:33 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/13/2006 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dimitrih7
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/13/2006

Is there a work around for the ECC requirement? A mod job or something that will allow me to use regular ram?
 11/13/2006 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

The requirement is not for ECC, it is for registered memory, though one generally finds both technologies in the same stick. And no, as far as I've seen, there is no workaround.

-Adam
 11/14/2006 09:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Dimitrih7
Is there a work around for the ECC requirement? A mod job or something that will allow me to use regular ram?



What motherboard? Most Tyan Thunder boards require both Registered and ECC be installed. You can disable ECC in the CMOS. It does not slow you down that much to do it. If you have three double sided modules or more, you need to set RAM to DDR333. Its a AMD rule, not Tyan.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 11/15/2006 07:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shards_of_glass
Senior Member

Posts: 2123
Joined: 12/31/2003

They fixed that with newer CPU's didn't they ?

-------------------------
#1 Athlon 64 4000+ / DFI LP UT RDX200 CF-DR / Seagate 7200.10 16MB 320GB SATA-150 / Corsair VS DDR400 1024MB SC
 11/15/2006 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: shards_of_glass
They fixed that with newer CPU's didn't they ?



Tyan boards are still Reg. Ecc.

2915:
Memory
• Dual channel memory bus
• (8) 240-pin DDR2 DIMM sockets (four per CPU)
• Supports registered, ECC DIMMs
• 32GB maximum of DDR2 667/533/400 memory


-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 12/12/2006 10:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

Um, its says "supports registered, ECC" it doesnt say "required".
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information