AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Super Powerful PC Wanted!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/24/2006 03:41 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/24/2006 03:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yue_Hong
Overclocker

Posts: 562
Joined: 11/24/2004

Is it possible to build a super powerful PC that can do extreme complicated 3D animation and special effect without any or with very little lagging?

-------------------------
"If you look at the last five years, if you look at what major innovations have occurred in computing technology, every single one of them came from AMD. Not a single innovation came from Intel." -- AMD CEO Hector Ruiz in 2007
 08/24/2006 04:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Yue_Hong
Is it possible to build a super powerful PC that can do extreme complicated 3D animation and special effect without any or with very little lagging?




Anything is possible. But you do not mention what programs you'd be using, or how intensive said programs might be in compairson to a system they've been tried on.

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 08/24/2006 05:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

i actually build a system for 3d, i use maya and zbrush alot, i have
amd opteron 170, EVGA 7800gt,and one gig of ram and its great...i dont think you should spend alot for a 3d machine unless your going to render high end full lenght movies....
 08/24/2006 07:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: zenyora
i actually build a system for 3d, i use maya and zbrush alot, i have
amd opteron 170, EVGA 7800gt,and one gig of ram and its great...i dont think you should spend alot for a 3d machine unless your going to render high end full lenght movies....



nice system. 2gigs of ram might be better for that kind of computer usage depending on how high end you are going to use it.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 08/25/2006 06:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

true 2 gig of ram is much better ..iam just waiting to have more money to waist so i can buy some good ram like patriot so i can OC my Opteron ....my crapy ram now is doing the job but wont let me OC
 08/26/2006 01:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

i think that the more money you make doing 3d the more you should spend on your tools for doing it.

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 08/26/2006 01:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fastedie
Member

Posts: 158
Joined: 11/15/2004

(QUOTE: Bruneauinfo Posted Today, 09:21 PM )

i think that the more money you make doing 3d the more you should spend on your tools for doing it.

I agree but if you like to do it. Then DO IT!!!!!!!Right!!!!!! Learn to Read and Research About the Tool's UP's And Downs in and outs. And after all that enjoy!!! Your self doing it at the same time! And then You Can take Pride in Your work!

Have a nice trip! and remember we all learn something everyday we are not All old dog's lol
I believe you can teach an ol dog a new trick. And he will learn It Well If you Teach Him Right!

-------------------------
DFI NF4 Ultra D
AMD FX60 @ 2889.5 GHz
6800 geforce 256
 08/26/2006 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yue_Hong
Overclocker

Posts: 562
Joined: 11/24/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown ' date='Aug 24 2006, 12:57 AM' post='1364004527']
Anything is possible. But you do not mention what programs you'd be using, or how intensive said programs might be in compairson to a system they've been tried on.


Thanks for your reply. Well, the program I am using to do 3d animation is 3ds max. I don't mind to have a long wait for the system to render it become video. But I'm more worry on lagging when doing the modeling. So, what I am asking here is to build a PC that can do quite complicated 3d modeling without any lagging while doing the modeling.

-------------------------
"If you look at the last five years, if you look at what major innovations have occurred in computing technology, every single one of them came from AMD. Not a single innovation came from Intel." -- AMD CEO Hector Ruiz in 2007
 08/26/2006 11:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

well, if you want super power check this thing out

pro thingy from nvidia

/blink.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blink:" border="0" alt="blink.gif" />

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 08/26/2006 05:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Bruneauinfo
well, if you want super power check this thing out

pro thingy from nvidia

/blink.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blink:" border="0" alt="blink.gif" />


this is a render node not a pc ...
 08/27/2006 10:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yue_Hong
Overclocker

Posts: 562
Joined: 11/24/2004

It is the first time I get to know this thing. Thanks for the link. But I am still unsure about it. Is it an add on to the PC?

-------------------------
"If you look at the last five years, if you look at what major innovations have occurred in computing technology, every single one of them came from AMD. Not a single innovation came from Intel." -- AMD CEO Hector Ruiz in 2007
 08/27/2006 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Yue_Hong
It is the first time I get to know this thing. Thanks for the link. But I am still unsure about it. Is it an add on to the PC?


am i invisible in this thread /ph34r.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="h34r:" border="0" alt="ph34r.gif" />....no its not an add on or a pc..its a render node
 08/27/2006 11:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: zenyora
am i invisible in this thread /ph34r.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="h34r:" border="0" alt="ph34r.gif" />....no its not an add on or a pc..its a render node


Yeah and oh heck of a powerful one at that !

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 08/27/2006 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: trickson
Yeah and oh heck of a powerful one at that !


ya it seems good , but i like the specs of the BOXX ones better ...
 08/27/2006 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

seems to me that if the specs on that nvidia one are real then it would be quite a powerful tool for doing 3dwork. perhaps you wouldn't need a really powerful pc and just let that thing do all the work.

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 08/27/2006 02:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: Bruneauinfo
seems to me that if the specs on that nvidia one are real then it would be quite a powerful tool for doing 3dwork. perhaps you wouldn't need a really powerful pc and just let that thing do all the work.


Yeah that is what I was thinkg as well if the price is right I might just get one .

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 08/27/2006 06:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

zenyora's right. check this thing out:

Apexx 8

16 cores and 128 GB or ram with drive space measured in TB, powerful. And of course AMD Opterons under the hood.

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 08/27/2006 07:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

guys you cant do 3d on that nvidia thing..its just for rendering ...anyway its up to you to listen to me or not , but i dont think you can afford anyof them becouse those are for animation houses..dude look at the specs and build something similar i build mine base on BOXX dual core setup but with better specs and for cheaper
 08/27/2006 11:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yue_Hong
Overclocker

Posts: 562
Joined: 11/24/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: zenyora
am i invisible in this thread /ph34r.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="h34r:" border="0" alt="ph34r.gif" />....no its not an add on or a pc..its a render node


Thanks for your reply. So, it is the render node. So, does it work individual? Or it need to work with CPU? If so, how to attach it to the CPU?


-------------------------
"If you look at the last five years, if you look at what major innovations have occurred in computing technology, every single one of them came from AMD. Not a single innovation came from Intel." -- AMD CEO Hector Ruiz in 2007
 08/28/2006 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

well the idea behind a render node is that once you come up with an effect you want to put on a particular video clip (like pretty little flames that are so popular with Combustion demos) you tell your compy to make it happen so you can see it - that's rendering. i.e. drawing, i.e. your computer draws it based on parameters you set, and then the computer creates it "super realistically". believe it or not that's pretty difficult for your gfx card or cpu to do and doesn't happen in real time. so this node thing makes it happen real fast rather than several minutes for just a few seconds of real time effect.

of course i could be wrong. i've been wrong before.

edit: i believe it attaches to your compy via network connection or firewire/usb. you can look at the specs on it. i do agree that the BOXX systems look a whole lot more up your alley though - or some equivalent. their Apexx line looks very nice - with AMD Opterons.

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information