AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Need help on a Workstation I'm trying to buy
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/24/2006 07:50 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/24/2006 07:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adroit
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/24/2006

I'm looking into buying a Alienware MJ-12 workstation for mainly video editing purposes. However, I want to do some type of gaming as well. I've heard that if I get a AMD Opteron processor, many games will not support it. Is this true? I'm thinking about getting the Duel Opteron 1.8 dual core processor but I also have a choice of getting a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400 processor with dual core. Also, unrelated to AMD but I'm sure somebody would know, I heard that the graphic cards that come with workstations don't work with games, so are you telling me if I get a 128 MB graphic card, I'm unable to run a game that has equal or lower requirements?
 05/24/2006 08:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown 've heard that if I get a AMD Opteron processor, many games will not support it. Is this true?


no. not true at all.

The X2 4400+ wil be faster than an 1.8Ghz Opteron 165, but you can overclock the opteron to higer than the 4400+

workstation cards aren't designed for games, but if you're just video editing a gaming card should be fine. Unless you're doing the 3D work, you don't need a workstation card.

BTW, gaming performance doesn't really depend on the amount of RAM, it depends on the GPU (Graphics processing unit) which does all the calculations and renders the image.

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 05/25/2006 12:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adroit
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: someone124
no. not true at all.

The X2 4400+ wil be faster than an 1.8Ghz Opteron 165, but you can overclock the opteron to higer than the 4400+

workstation cards aren't designed for games, but if you're just video editing a gaming card should be fine. Unless you're doing the 3D work, you don't need a workstation card.

BTW, gaming performance doesn't really depend on the amount of RAM, it depends on the GPU (Graphics processing unit) which does all the calculations and renders the image.



Thanks for the feedback, but the Opteron I was talking about is Dual AMD Opteron™ 265 1.8 GHz 64-Bit w/ Dual Core Technology , is that faster than a X2 4400. Also, is it ok to put a gaming card inside of a workstation?
 05/25/2006 01:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: Adroit One
Thanks for the feedback, but the Opteron I was talking about is Dual AMD Opteron™ 265 1.8 GHz 64-Bit w/ Dual Core Technology , is that faster than a X2 4400. Also, is it ok to put a gaming card inside of a workstation?



Well I have a dual 246 and my games play well, a couple of dudes have dual dual 265's and better and have no trouble gaming.

So you should not encounter any isssues specific to dual socket with games, apart from games not taking advantage of all the cores your have, eg most games will only use one of your cores at a time, quake 4 and oblivion as well as a few other will use the extra cores.

And you won't have any problem putting and decent video card in your computer, mine runs a pci-ex 7800gt quite happily, and should quite happily accept a second one for SLI.

 05/25/2006 09:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adroit
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Bitey
Well I have a dual 246 and my games play well, a couple of dudes have dual dual 265's and better and have no trouble gaming.

So you should not encounter any isssues specific to dual socket with games, apart from games not taking advantage of all the cores your have, eg most games will only use one of your cores at a time, quake 4 and oblivion as well as a few other will use the extra cores.

And you won't have any problem putting and decent video card in your computer, mine runs a pci-ex 7800gt quite happily, and should quite happily accept a second one for SLI.



Thank you, that helps a lot. I have one more question, if I do get that dual processor with dual cores, will 1 gig of RAM be enough? I ask because I assume with two processors, the two processors will split 1 gig of RAM in half for use with both processors.
 05/25/2006 11:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

You realize dual opteron motherboards have seperate memory slots for each processor?

So whatever you decide for memory i.e. 1Gb, you will need to put 1Gb of registered memory in the appropriate slots for each processor... You would be buying 2Gb of registered memory in that case.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 05/25/2006 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adroit
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: MD Willington
You realize dual opteron motherboards have seperate memory slots for each processor?

So whatever you decide for memory i.e. 1Gb, you will need to put 1Gb of registered memory in the appropriate slots for each processor... You would be buying 2Gb of registered memory in that case.




No I did not know that /mellow.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":mellow:" border="0" alt="mellow.gif" /> , now everything makes sense. Thanks for the help.
 05/25/2006 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adroit
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Adroit One
No I did not know that /mellow.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":mellow:" border="0" alt="mellow.gif" /> , now everything makes sense. Thanks for the help.



I need to know one thing for confirmation, because I don't want to buy a computer that's processing speed is slower than my current one. So I need to know how much faster is a Dual AMD Opteron™ 265 1.8 GHz 64-Bit w/ Dual Core Technology than my current Intel Pentium 4 3.2 Ghz processor with Hyperthreading Technology. I know with Dual Processors and dual core technology, it lets you do more faster, but doesn't necessarity makes programs run faster than processor with the same ghz but single cores. So how much faster is the AMD I'm about get over my Intel? Thank you.
 05/25/2006 09:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: Adroit One
I need to know one thing for confirmation, because I don't want to buy a computer that's processing speed is slower than my current one. So I need to know how much faster is a Dual AMD Opteron™ 265 1.8 GHz 64-Bit w/ Dual Core Technology than my current Intel Pentium 4 3.2 Ghz processor with Hyperthreading Technology. I know with Dual Processors and dual core technology, it lets you do more faster, but doesn't necessarity makes programs run faster than processor with the same ghz but single cores. So how much faster is the AMD I'm about get over my Intel? Thank you.



While most decent dual opteron boards have memory slots per cpu socket, you only NEED to put ram in the slots for the first CPU(1x 128bit memory interface). However when you extra dimms to the second cpu you effectively double the memory performance(2x128bit memory interface). You also have the option of only useing one dimm for each cpu giving (2x64bit memory interface)

So 1G will be fine.

Also you only have to put one cpu in, you can add a second one later if you want.

as to performance, I would think in single threaded stuff (most older games) the P4 @3.2 would be quicker, but most professional apps which support multithreading will be faster and smoother on a 265 opteron.



 05/25/2006 11:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adroit
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Bitey
While most decent dual opteron boards have memory slots per cpu socket, you only NEED to put ram in the slots for the first CPU(1x 128bit memory interface). However when you extra dimms to the second cpu you effectively double the memory performance(2x128bit memory interface). You also have the option of only useing one dimm for each cpu giving (2x64bit memory interface)

So 1G will be fine.

Also you only have to put one cpu in, you can add a second one later if you want.

as to performance, I would think in single threaded stuff (most older games) the P4 @3.2 would be quicker, but most professional apps which support multithreading will be faster and smoother on a 265 opteron.




Thanks man, so if I get a single processor, 2.4 dual core AMD Opetron processor, that should running faster than my Intel for both single core and multi core applications and games? Also, if I'm not mistaking, dual core is kinda of equivalent to 2 processors right.
 05/25/2006 11:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: Adroit One
Thanks man, so if I get a single processor, 2.4 dual core AMD Opetron processor, that should running faster than my Intel for both single core and multi core applications and games? Also, if I'm not mistaking, dual core is kinda of equivalent to 2 processors right.



A 2.4G dual core opteron will kick a 3.2 p4 [content edited] soundly, no quaestions.

And yes single dual core is very similar to what the old style dual processors systems is like(and intels).
Effectively 2 processors shareing 1 set of memory.

A little bonus you get with single threaded games is that nvidia and ati make multithreaded drivers so you get a little boost right there as well.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information