AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 64 bit Word Length ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/14/2006 06:15 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/14/2006 06:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
anivasgr
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/14/2006

I need your on the following: I'm dealing with a public tender for which they ask for CISC CPU with 64bit word length.
Can anybody inform me if the Opteron CPUs can comply with this spec ?
If yes is there anything that documents this ?

Thanks a lot.
 09/14/2006 06:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
srg86
Senior Member

Posts: 3455
Joined: 05/06/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: anivasgr
I need your on the following: I'm dealing with a public tender for which they ask for CISC CPU with 64bit word length.
Can anybody inform me if the Opteron CPUs can comply with this spec ?
If yes is there anything that documents this ?

Thanks a lot.



I think the Opteron is the closest you're going to get to a 64-bit CISC CPU. There is no such thing as a true microencoded 64-bit CISC CPU but the Opteron's AMD64 is based on the CISC x86 instruction set.

So, it should bit the bill.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester) 2.2GHz, DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D, 1GB Corsair XMS DDR400 Dual Channel, 80GB WD Caviar SE SATA, 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9 SATA, NEC 4550A, Radeon X800GTO 128MB DDR, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, Tagan TG480-U01.

Commodore Amiga 1200, MC68060 50MHz CPU (FPU Built in), 2MB Chip RAM, 16MB Fast RAM, AGA Graphics Chipset, 20GB IBM Travelstar 40GN, Kickstart 3.1 ROM, Workbench 3.1
 09/14/2006 06:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
anivasgr
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/14/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: srg86
I think the Opteron is the closest you're going to get to a 64-bit CISC CPU. There is no such thing as a true microencoded 64-bit CISC CPU but the Opteron's AMD64 is based on the CISC x86 instruction set.

So, it should bit the bill.




I suppose that Intel EM64 is out of the question for the case isn't it ?
 09/14/2006 06:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
srg86
Senior Member

Posts: 3455
Joined: 05/06/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: anivasgr
I suppose that Intel EM64 is out of the question for the case isn't it ?



Intel EM64T will be fine as it's basically the same thing.


-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester) 2.2GHz, DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D, 1GB Corsair XMS DDR400 Dual Channel, 80GB WD Caviar SE SATA, 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9 SATA, NEC 4550A, Radeon X800GTO 128MB DDR, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, Tagan TG480-U01.

Commodore Amiga 1200, MC68060 50MHz CPU (FPU Built in), 2MB Chip RAM, 16MB Fast RAM, AGA Graphics Chipset, 20GB IBM Travelstar 40GN, Kickstart 3.1 ROM, Workbench 3.1
 09/14/2006 07:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
anivasgr
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/14/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: srg86
Intel EM64T will be fine as it's basically the same thing.



Thanks a lot.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information