AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: One CPU in a Dual Opteron Motherboard
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/12/2006 10:51 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/12/2006 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grahamlee
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/12/2006

Hello All

I am new to this forum and to workstation class computers, and need to ask what you may think is a stupid question.

In order to future-proof and allow for upgrades, I was thinking of building a machine that can take two opteron dual core processors, two graphics cards (SLI), and SATA II hard drives in a RAID array. A couple of motherboards that seem to fit the bill are:

Tyan Thunder K8WE
Tyan Tiger K8WE
Gigabyte GA-2CEWH

For economic reasons I only intend to buy one processor, one graphics card and one hard drive to begin with, and I will see how things go with the 3D Landscape Visualisation and Photoshop tasks I am building the machine for.

However, (this is the stupid question) I do not know if you can operate the motherboards with only one processor in place. I think I am right in saying that there is no problem in using only one graphics card.

Any advice or even a simple Yes/No answer would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.
 02/14/2006 08:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jhnboy
Member

Posts: 197
Joined: 02/14/2006

well what i do knwo is that the graphics card should work with only 1
but the cpu socket may be different or may not work at all.
Power supply all are connected to the cpu (dual , or if its single)
 02/15/2006 04:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

answer is yes...
also read up on 'Iwill DK8ES'

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information