AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Need advice for a new system
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/27/2006 02:22 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/27/2006 02:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zonda
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/11/2005

Hello,
I need serious advice on what to get for my new machine.
I do a lot of work with Photoshop, Genuine Fractals, as well as wide format printing. At this moment I am using a single P4 1.5 with 2 gigs of pc2600 RAM and ATA-100 7200 rpm drives (total about 300 gigs) on a Win2000 (last service pack) platform.
What I have now is stable but terribly slow, and I cannot work on any serious stuff when printer is in use (printing files 100MB and more in size). Printer’s memory is not upgradeable, so that’s a dead end. I also have to downsize most of my files to 100 resolution in order at least for the printer to “swallow” them, even though ideally files for printing should have 300 resolution.
I feel like anything that somewhat “modern” in comparison to what I have would be good. It is just I’d like to build something now that I would not have to drastically upgrade for at least 2 years.
So I need help form you guys to advise me on the components that I have picked for a new system
1.MB – Tyan S2895A2NRF or Supermicro H8DCE. I have decided on server boards only due to a larger amount of RAM that they support. BTW, how big is the difference in speed between ECC and non-ECC RAM? I am not talking about tests but real life utilization. Is it truly big?

2.CPU – Dual dual-core AMD Opteron 270 or 280. The prices are high, but I may get a matching pair of 270s or 280s reasonably from a friend. I was almost convinced that this is a great choice until I have found this article http://www.digit-life.com/arti...pu/amd-cmp-vs-smp.html' ">http://www.digit-life.com/arti...pu/amd-cmp-vs-smp.html

3.Memory - 4 gigs (4x1 or 2x2) of PC3200 ECC registered RAM

4.Drives – 2 WD Raptors (150 GB each) raided for OS and 2 Hitachi 500 GB raided for applications. Is this a good idea? How important is RAID? What type of RAID should I be using? Performance is important but so is fault tolerance. Tyan board supports only 4 SATA drives and 2 PATA drives, so I figured – SATA for hard drives and PATA for 2 optical drives? Or maybe just have one 150 GB Raptor for a primary drive and 1 Hitachi for a secondary and add their twins and RAID later?

5.Video – PCI-e with 128 MB – since I am not doing video editing or 3D rendering professionally but just for fun – how much memory should I need? DDR or GDR type of memory? Would two MSI NX6800-TD128E Geforce 6800 128MB 256-bit DDR PCI Express x16 Video Cards s be enough? (http://www.newegg.com/product/...?item=N82E16814127179)

6.Power Supply - PC Power & Cooling TURBO-COOL 850 SSI T85SSI 850W (http://www.newegg.com/product/...?item=N82E16817703002)

7.Case – Lian-Li PC-V2000 http://www.newegg.com/product/...asp?...82E16811112074)' ">http://www.newegg.com/product/...?item=N82E16811112074) or Lian-Li PC-7077A (http://www.newegg.com/product/...?item=N82E16811112049)

8.OS – win XP 64?

I sincerely thank you for taking the time to read and advise.
Kindly, Riki
 01/27/2006 09:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

150 gig system drive? how much of that space do you think will actually get utilized?
my insticts would tell me you should gear more towards a single dual-core opteron solution... start with a board like this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16813186055' ">http://www.newegg.com/Product/...p?Item=N82E16813186055
it is an amazing board with plenty of expandability. simply run one 280 italy core and enjoy all the added bandwidth that triple ht links supply.
i would run one single 74 gig raptor as your system drive, and using this card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16816115026' ">http://www.newegg.com/Product/...p?Item=N82E16816115026
in your pciX4 slot you can create a raid 5 array... giving you mega space and security... start off with four 250's or 500's if you can afford it.

i bet you cant notice the difference ecc memory makes... it will all be so much more powerful and responsive compared to what youve been using.


-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information