AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: screen flickers
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/20/2007 02:30 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/20/2007 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
m72mc
Member

Posts: 92
Joined: 12/06/2006

my screen is abit blurry and flickers just slightly.

this is after upgrading my cpu from athlon xp 1800+thoroughbread to athlon 2800+ barton

no other issues so far.. did not see this first but it flickers just slightly..

what could cause this...


some settings in the bios??? volt.. settings etc??

shall I upgrade my bios?

any help is appreciated??

btw. I have reinstalled my graphicsdriver but made no difference..

I run win xp pro
 02/20/2007 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

Whats your refresh rate? did it get messed with?

Also what PSU do you have?

Try a different outlet for the computer and monitor.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 02/20/2007 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
m72mc
Member

Posts: 92
Joined: 12/06/2006

75 hrz refresh rate same as before cpu upgrade.its max for my flat screen.

whats psu?

I tried a different outlet made no difference..


edit: changed refresh rate to 70 hrz now and it don´t flicker now..

so how do i get it to work normally with 75 hrz refresh rate.. what could be the problem??

note it runs fine now with 70 fps refresh rate perhaps i forgot it was 70 before but im sure it was 75 before..

72 also flickers slightly the same way..



 02/22/2007 09:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

What kind of flat screen do you have? Usually for TFT flat screens, 60Hz is best&sufficient, higher frequency will not bring any better quality for them. If its an analog CRT display, the max frequency is dependent on the screen resolution, eg. 75Hz usually works fine with 1024x768. 1280x1024 may need lower frequency for a good picture.

-------------------------
 02/25/2007 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
estricklin
Senior Member

Posts: 307
Joined: 10/01/2006

I've seen a few monitors that start to do that when they are going bad. Lowering the refresh rate gives some temporary relief. Not saying your monitor is bad but its a possibility.

-------------------------
From Model Ts ta Pentium 3s.
 03/03/2007 08:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
m72mc
Member

Posts: 92
Joined: 12/06/2006

the problem was related to my other post here about my vcore being to high.

lowered my vcore to correct settings and 75 hrz works fine now.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information