AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Options Help.Please
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/18/2007 08:56 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2007 08:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xcurtisx
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 01/18/2007

I am purchasing a pretty hardcore laptop.
Going to be used for Music Recording and Sequencing as well as working and gaming.
Out of allthose I think Music is the most CPU intensive. XP Pro Till VIsta and maybe Dual boot Fedora Core if the hardware suits. I am looking to get a hypersonic fx7. Laptop Link

MY Choices on CPUS are as follows:

FX-60 Dual Core
FX-57 w/ Hypertransport (+45)
Opteron 185 (Dual 2.6) (+90)

Its been so long since I really did any hardcore research I don't know whats what anymore.
What do you all suggest.
Thanks so much.

Curtis



 01/18/2007 09:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

stick with the FX-60, the FX-57 is a single core cpu, and the Opteron won't offer any substantial advantage over the FX60.

upgrade the ram to the 1gb mushkin low latency modules

add accidental damage protection

increase platinum warranty to 3 years.

you can also consider adding another 100gb hard drive and having them set up in either a RAID 0, or RAID 1.

realize that while a DTR notebook is portable, you can build a desktop system with similar specs for half the price, plus you'll be able to include a much more capable sound system.

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 01/18/2007 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xcurtisx
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 01/18/2007

quote:

Originally posted by: MrWicked1968
stick with the FX-60, the FX-57 is a single core cpu, and the Opteron won't offer any substantial advantage over the FX60.

upgrade the ram to the 1gb mushkin low latency modules

add accidental damage protection

increase platinum warranty to 3 years.

you can also consider adding another 100gb hard drive and having them set up in either a RAID 0, or RAID 1.

realize that while a DTR notebook is portable, you can build a desktop system with similar specs for half the price, plus you'll be able to include a much more capable sound system.


Thanx brother. I had planned on that RAM and Raid Drives in 0.
I really need to portability. I have another desktop system as well. I will end up with a DSP external to get the extra audio power I need.
As well..
The Opteron vs FX60.
The difference is barely noticable you mention, and I am sure you are correct.
But for the record what are the main differences and who are they not so noticeable.
I just ask because the price diff is minimal.
 01/19/2007 05:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: xcurtisx
Thanx brother. I had planned on that RAM and Raid Drives in 0.
I really need to portability. I have another desktop system as well. I will end up with a DSP external to get the extra audio power I need.
As well..
The Opteron vs FX60.
The difference is barely noticable you mention, and I am sure you are correct.
But for the record what are the main differences and who are they not so noticeable.
I just ask because the price diff is minimal.



I would go to 2GB of RAM, if possible. What is your backup solution for RAID 0?

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 01/19/2007 11:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xcurtisx
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 01/18/2007

quote:

Originally posted by: mckennma
I would go to 2GB of RAM, if possible. What is your backup solution for RAID 0?


2gigs of RAM is a must. RAID0 backup is to reinstall the OS. Ido backup my work stuff and my music to an external.
 01/20/2007 02:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: xcurtisx
2gigs of RAM is a must. RAID0 backup is to reinstall the OS. Ido backup my work stuff and my music to an external.



RAID 0 is not a backup. Backup solutions are external removable devices: tapes, cd, dvd, external drives.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 01/20/2007 02:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xcurtisx
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 01/18/2007

quote:

Originally posted by: mckennma
RAID 0 is not a backup. Backup solutions are external removable devices: tapes, cd, dvd, external drives.


Ofcourse I was saying my idea of repairing a system failure is to reinstall the OS.
Thanx though.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information