AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: "Matched Pairs"
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/12/2007 12:09 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/12/2007 12:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
davess10
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/11/2007

I reciently purchased a AMD Opteron Processor. ( OSA248CEP5AU ).
I would like to use it on/in a two processor motherboard.
Is there any way to match this chip with another one ( OSA248CEP5AU ) to make a 'matched pair' ??
Or will any OSA248CEP5AU work ?
 01/13/2007 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

if it is another CG part it should work... but if it is a 248 as well... even better.

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
 01/17/2007 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: davess10
I reciently purchased a AMD Opteron Processor. ( OSA248CEP5AU ).
I would like to use it on/in a two processor motherboard.
Is there any way to match this chip with another one ( OSA248CEP5AU ) to make a 'matched pair' ??
Or will any OSA248CEP5AU work ?



I would try to get a perfect match instead of a possible match. Even same stepping CPUs can have different characteristics. You can get OEM Opterons for Dell, HP, Compaq, etc. that might be slightly different and cause issues. You could sell you current one and buy two matching. Insight had 940 Opterons in stock. I just bought a pair of 280s for $480 each.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 01/25/2007 10:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ccb056
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/13/2006

Though this is slightly older technology, here is what I did

I bought 2 different Athlon XP Mobile 2800's on ebay from 2 different people at 2 different times. Stuck them in my Tyan Tiger MPX board with a pin mod to lock the multipliers (XP-M's have unlocked multipliers and default to the lowest one).

System has been rock solid stable for over a year, and I crunch SETI on it 24x7 along with gaming, etc...

-------------------------
ComputerBB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information