AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Server Chassis
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/12/2007 03:04 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/12/2007 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ddooley
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/12/2007

I am specing out a high end workstation for a client and need to find a appropriate case for this unit. AMD used to have a recomended list of chassis's for workstations and servers, but this list seems to have disapeared.

What I have is a small doctors office that will have 2 workstations and a single server. In that enviro it does not make sense to spend a lot on a server, so I figured we could go with a high end workstation setup with some built in redundancy such as dual PSU's, and a good solid raid array for storage.

Dan
 04/27/2007 04:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

HP Proliant server with a Carepaq. You get redundant fans, power supply. Do RAID 1 for OS and data with a hot spare drive. 10K SCSI drives with a single channel RAID controller. I would get a tape drive for backups. Veritas backup Exec for the tape software so you can schedule nightly full backups.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information