AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: This is my work in progress
Topic Summary: Quad dual core Opteron Solaris server
Created On: 07/28/2007 08:02 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/15/2009 11:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

The Quadro FX 5800 is the workstation variant of the GTX 280. The FirePro 3D V8700 is already released and it is the workstation variant of the Radeon HD 4870. I doubt the FirePro V8700 is faster than the Quadro FX 5800, but it will certainly run a lot cooler and probably cost less as well.

vpsight, is there any particular reason you need to use a workstation graphics card instead of a standard one? The only difference between the workstation cards and standard cards are that the standard ones don't have all of the OpenGL driver tweaks for professional programs that the workstation cards have, as well as a massive price differential. For about the same money, you can get a low-end workstation card like the Radeon 3450-based FirePro V3700 or a stout standard card like the Radeon HD 4830. I'd be willing to bet that the HD 4830's 128 unified shaders and 256-bit memory interface will more than overcome driver inefficiencies to beat the 8-shader V3700 with a 64-bit memory interface.

-------------------------
 04/22/2009 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aeads
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/22/2009

@vspight : very interesting gear you have there !!! I hope you finish soon and tell us what is intended for !!!
( it's my dream sys. also )) )
Good luck !!!
 04/22/2009 06:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

Originally posted by: Aeads

@vspight : very interesting gear you have there !!! I hope you finish soon and tell us what is intended for !!!



to overthrow the world-lol


-dimwit-

we have been waiting, do you have a finish date yet?

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 09/18/2009 03:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
liquidroofs
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/18/2009

in these days i am listening 36 GB USB Stick in the market.. And want to purchase it as soon as possible
 09/18/2009 10:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Sooo......how is the build going?? Is it done yet.....I must admit, I am dieing to hear what you plan to do with it!!

Sweet system....well done!!!

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 07/02/2011 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vspight
Newbie

Posts: 28
Joined: 07/28/2007

I removed Solaris from this server back in 2009. I just installed windows server 2008 R2 standard edition and it is working just fine. I made some changes to the settings so that I can use this server as a workstation. I had intended to use this machine to construct a database from some open source software for my own use but I no longer have that need. I am not going to install a quadro video board or the pci-x audio card. I purchased an Asus Nvidia gtx 590 that I am about to install. I will just use this machine to replace the computer I am currently using. This quad cpu computer is quite fast even though it is now aged.
 07/02/2011 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Wow... now that is some serious Necromancy you have done! This thread is almost 4 years old and almost 2 years dead! Nice job keeping us up-to-date, you show some serious dedication!

QB

p.s. just read that and I sound like a sarcastic a$$, that is not what I intended

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 07/05/2011 06:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vspight
Newbie

Posts: 28
Joined: 07/28/2007

I just received my Asus Nvidia gtx 590. It requires two 8 pin pci-express power connections which I knew. One dual 6 pin to 8 pin adapter came in the box. Also, which I knew. I cannot use the single 6 pin to 8 pin adapter that I have already. Which I did not know. Oh well, I ordered another dual 6 pin to 8 pin adapter. I checked my power supply and I have four 6 pin pci express power cables, great. Now I just have to wait a little longer.
 07/15/2011 03:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vspight
Newbie

Posts: 28
Joined: 07/28/2007

I had to update the motherboard BIOS and the video board just barely fit in the case but it works. The video is really nice. The downside is this thing consumes electricity like mad and gives off a ton of heat. Oh well. I won't be using it that often anyway. I am guessing that when I get the audio board the installation will be much simpler but nothing has been easy with this build.
 10/19/2011 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hytron
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/18/2011

Amazing system...you can use it to heat your entire basement in the winter LOL

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II x6 1090T
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Corsair Dominator DDR3 8GB/1600MHz 9-9-9-24
Adaptec 2405 RAID Controller SATA/3Gbps
VMware ESXi 4.1 Hypervisor
 11/30/2011 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rclove
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/30/2011

That is one monster PC you've buil there. Would love to see how After Effects handles on it
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information