AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 5000 X2 Black Edition with locked multiplier?
Topic Summary: Making changes to the multiplier in BIOS seems to have no effect
Created On: 01/04/2009 05:34 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/04/2009 05:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GoodGuy
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/04/2009

Hi All,

Accrding to CPU-Z my processor is the X2 5000+ Black Edition. The processor information in the AMI BIOS (multiplier up to 25x) would validate this.
When I increase the multiplier however, it remains at 13x in CPU-Z and the clock is unaffected there and in windows system.
Does that mean I have a Black edition with locked multiplier, or am I missing something here?

Thanks, GoodGuy
 01/10/2009 04:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chiplist
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 12/29/2006

There's a lot of confusion on the Black Editions being locked or not. I think the X2 5000+ (EE) Black Edition and the X4 9600/9850 are not locked, and the 6400+ is locked.

-------------------------
Adrian Offerman
Maintainer of The ChipList
 01/23/2009 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el gappo
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 01/23/2009

non of the black editions are locked i ( not 100%) its possible your mobo thinks its a different cpu, have you tried overclocking in the bios?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information