AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Overclock my Phenom II 940?
Topic Summary: Can anyone help me do this? I've never done any OC'ing before
Created On: 02/13/2009 06:51 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/13/2009 06:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LordA22m
Lurker

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/13/2009

I'd like to try Overclocking my processor a little but i have no idea where to start.

I just built my first PC () and would like to try OC'ing it a little.

What im working with:
CPU: Phenom II 940 @3.0Ghz
RAM: 4x2GB @1066
MoBo: AOD790GX/128M
PSU: Antec Trio 650W
Case: Raidmax Smilodon Extreme Black ATX-612WEB (With 3x80MM fans and 2x120MM fans)

The processor was a retail version (CPU w/CPU Fan included) so im using the stock fan with it.

I've installed the AMD Overdrive software and the Asrock IES, and OC Tuner

Anyone want to point me in the right direction?

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940BE@3.63Ghz
RAM: 4x2GB DDR2@1066 OCZ Reaper HPC (5-5-5-18 2.1v)
MoBo: AOD790GX/128M
HDD:X-25M 80GB G2|WD Black 1TB
PSU: Antec Trio 650W
Case: SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB
 02/13/2009 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

First time overclocker, I would recommend a simple multi overclock. what's your max load temps now?

Leave all settings default and set CPU voltage to 1.4 volts and CPU multi to 17.5 for 3.5 ghz. Watch temps and do not let them pass 58c ever.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 02/13/2009 at 08:44 PM by PC-GURU -
 02/13/2009 07:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LordA22m
Lurker

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/13/2009

I haven't checked the temp under max load yet. Can you suggest a program to test it with the max load? I read about 3dmark06 i think. I don't know if thats a program for that or not though.

The highest i've seen it get is 40C but all i've been doing is installing the OS (reinstalling in some cases X( ) and doing updates for drivers. I had problems with Windows7 for the ATI driver so i went back to XP pro 64bit until i can get 64bit vista OS

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940BE@3.63Ghz
RAM: 4x2GB DDR2@1066 OCZ Reaper HPC (5-5-5-18 2.1v)
MoBo: AOD790GX/128M
HDD:X-25M 80GB G2|WD Black 1TB
PSU: Antec Trio 650W
Case: SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB
 02/13/2009 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Go here and download Everest ultimate link

Check your PM for serial

Then set up like this,









To test stability and max load temps





-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 02/13/2009 09:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LordA22m
Lurker

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/13/2009

How long should i run the stability test?

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940BE@3.63Ghz
RAM: 4x2GB DDR2@1066 OCZ Reaper HPC (5-5-5-18 2.1v)
MoBo: AOD790GX/128M
HDD:X-25M 80GB G2|WD Black 1TB
PSU: Antec Trio 650W
Case: SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB
 02/13/2009 09:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

30 min will do fine, then play 3 different games 30 min each and something like code a 4.5 gig DVD movie. If she is stable threw all that she will always be stable.

58c that's your limit.

OC as high as you want, never pass 58c.

AMD calls is 62c My rule of thumb is 58c.

I don't even remotely get close to 58c even at 3.76 Ghz.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 02/13/2009 at 10:10 PM by PC-GURU -
 02/15/2009 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LordA22m
Lurker

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/13/2009

Thanks I went through a couple of tries and it's running stable at 3.5Ghz with a mutliplier of 17.5

When i put it at 18.5 i get BSOD just after POST. When i put it at 18 it would start up so i could get to the desktop and then it would just restart and reload the OS. Temperature for the CPU never went over 48C.

What should i do to stabilize it at the 18 multiplier?

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940BE@3.63Ghz
RAM: 4x2GB DDR2@1066 OCZ Reaper HPC (5-5-5-18 2.1v)
MoBo: AOD790GX/128M
HDD:X-25M 80GB G2|WD Black 1TB
PSU: Antec Trio 650W
Case: SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB
 02/15/2009 09:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

so its a strait up multi overclock right? htt reference clock still at default 200 ?

set vcore to 1.45 or 1.475 for multi of 18.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 02/15/2009 09:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LordA22m
Lurker

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/13/2009

vcore is the same as CPU voltage?

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940BE@3.63Ghz
RAM: 4x2GB DDR2@1066 OCZ Reaper HPC (5-5-5-18 2.1v)
MoBo: AOD790GX/128M
HDD:X-25M 80GB G2|WD Black 1TB
PSU: Antec Trio 650W
Case: SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB
 02/15/2009 09:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Yes

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 02/15/2009 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LordA22m
Lurker

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/13/2009

That did it Going to run a test on it in a bit.

Here's a screenshot
http://www.photodump.org/stored26/cpu-3592Gondor.bmp

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940BE@3.63Ghz
RAM: 4x2GB DDR2@1066 OCZ Reaper HPC (5-5-5-18 2.1v)
MoBo: AOD790GX/128M
HDD:X-25M 80GB G2|WD Black 1TB
PSU: Antec Trio 650W
Case: SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB
 04/06/2009 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LordA22m
Lurker

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/13/2009

Back again Have my processor running at 3.6Ghz now

I see you have the same MoBo as I do. I'd like to increase my Hyper Thread reference (I think thats what it's called)

Could you help me with it? I also set my Northbridge to 2000 from 1800.

Thanks for all your help

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940BE@3.63Ghz
RAM: 4x2GB DDR2@1066 OCZ Reaper HPC (5-5-5-18 2.1v)
MoBo: AOD790GX/128M
HDD:X-25M 80GB G2|WD Black 1TB
PSU: Antec Trio 650W
Case: SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB
 04/06/2009 07:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Its in the the next section down in bios I set the HTT clock to 2400 max aloud.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 04/06/2009 07:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LordA22m
Lurker

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/13/2009

You mean the NB Frequency Multiplier? Did you have to increase the voltage any if?

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940BE@3.63Ghz
RAM: 4x2GB DDR2@1066 OCZ Reaper HPC (5-5-5-18 2.1v)
MoBo: AOD790GX/128M
HDD:X-25M 80GB G2|WD Black 1TB
PSU: Antec Trio 650W
Case: SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB
 04/06/2009 07:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

no its the NB link speed in the next section there NOT the same.

As for NB multi I run mine at 2400 Mhz 1.275 volts.



-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 04/06/2009 10:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LordA22m
Lurker

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/13/2009

Alright, when i set my NB Link above 1800 the OS won't load.
These are the settings that load:
HT Ref Clock: 202.01
Core Speed: 3636 @1.4V
NB Speed: 2222@1.185V (x11)
HT Link: 1818

I turned the Overclock Mode from "Auto" to "CPU, PCIE Async" - Thats the only way I can change the HT Ref Clock.
Also the NB Link only shows 8 or 16. No idea if thats the norm

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940BE@3.63Ghz
RAM: 4x2GB DDR2@1066 OCZ Reaper HPC (5-5-5-18 2.1v)
MoBo: AOD790GX/128M
HDD:X-25M 80GB G2|WD Black 1TB
PSU: Antec Trio 650W
Case: SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB
 04/06/2009 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

ODD lol Run mine at 2400 lol.

The rest all looks good man and the 1800 HTT is stock and dead on.

Its 3600 Mhz effective.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 04/14/2009 07:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

You need to change the NB multi to x12 first,then change the HT speed to 2.4ghz,you cant do it the other way round.

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 12/27/2009 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mtyler7807
Newbie

Posts: 18
Joined: 12/27/2009

I got mine to 3.6 stable. I'll try your sattings to see I can get a little more out of it.

-------------------------
The Doctor Is In!!!
NZXT Case
Asus M4N82 Deluxe MoBo
2 - Evga 9800GTX+ OC SLI
Phenom II x4 940
OCZ 4gb ddr2 Watercool Kit
Soyo Topaz 24" LCD
Coolermaster 850W Power Supply
6-1TB Harddrives(3 sets Mirrored)
Microsoft Wireless m/k Set
3DMark06 - 18544
 12/27/2009 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Max. stable overclock for my 940 was 3.7GHz (32-bit Win 7 & Vista).
With NB@ 2600MHz and HT Link@ 2200MHz.
You don't want or need your HT Link any higher than 2200.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information