AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon needs upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/23/2009 01:40 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/23/2009 01:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sacman
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/02/2009

Hello

I have an AMD Athlon 2400+ in which I would like to upgrade the RAM. Below is a copy of the Everst Report:


Computer:
Computer Type ACPI Uniprocessor PC
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Internet Explorer 7.0.5730.13 (IE 7.0)
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name LIANLI1

Motherboard:
CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 2000 MHz (15 x 133) 2400+
Motherboard Name MSI KT6 Delta-LSR (MS-6590 v2.0) (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 3 DIMM, Audio, LAN)
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8377 Apollo KT600
System Memory [ TRIAL VERSION ]
DIMM1: SpecTek 512 MB PC2100 DDR SDRAM (2.5-3-3-6 @ 133 MHz) (2.0-2-2-5 @ 100 MHz)
BIOS Type AMI (09/05/03)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)
Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter All-in Wonder 128 Pro AGP (32 MB)
3D Accelerator ATI Rage128 Pro AGP4X
Monitor Samsung SyncMaster 206BW/MagicSyncMaster CX206BW (Analog) [20" LCD] (HVFP101408)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter C-Media CMI9739(A) @ VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller

Storage:
IDE Controller VIA Bus Master IDE Controller - 0571
Storage Controller VIA SATA RAID Controller
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive IOMEGA ZIP 100
Disk Drive SAMSUNG SV4002H (40 GB, 5400 RPM, Ultra-ATA/100)
Disk Drive USB DISK 2.0 USB Device (956 MB, USB)
Optical Drive LITE-ON DVD SOHD-167T (16x/48x DVD-ROM)
Optical Drive SONY CD-RW CRX230EE (52x/32x/52x CD-RW)
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Total Size [ TRIAL VERSION ]

Input:
Keyboard Logitech HID-Compliant Keyboard
Mouse Logitech HID-compliant Cordless Mouse
Mouse Logitech HID-compliant MX320 Laser Mouse

Network:
Primary IP Address [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Primary MAC Address 00-1B-11-E9-27-7A
Network Adapter D-Link Wireless N USB Adapter DWA-130 (192. [ TRIAL VERSION ])
Network Adapter MSI/Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller

Peripherals:
Printer Microsoft XPS Document Writer
Printer Samsung ML-2010 Series
Printer Send To OneNote 2007
USB1 Controller VIA VT8237 USB Universal Host Controller
USB1 Controller VIA VT8237 USB Universal Host Controller
USB1 Controller VIA VT8237 USB Universal Host Controller
USB1 Controller VIA VT8237 USB Universal Host Controller
USB2 Controller VIA VT8237 USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Device D-Link Wireless N USB Adapter DWA-130
USB Device Logitech USB MX320 Laser Mouse
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Mass Storage Device

DMI:
DMI BIOS Vendor American Megatrends Inc.
DMI BIOS Version Version 07.00T
DMI System Manufacturer MSI
DMI System Product MS-6590
DMI System Version 2.0
DMI System Serial Number [ TRIAL VERSION ]
DMI Motherboard Manufacturer MSI
DMI Motherboard Product MS-6590
DMI Motherboard Version 2.0
DMI Motherboard Serial Number [ TRIAL VERSION ]
DMI Chassis Manufacturer Uknown Chassis Manufacture
DMI Chassis Version Version 1.00
DMI Chassis Serial Number [ TRIAL VERSION ]
DMI Chassis Asset Tag [ TRIAL VERSION ]

Is upgrading the RAM the best way to go to make this the fastest machine it can be? Where can I purchase RAM or other components for this specific machine or is it so outdated it is useless to do so? Currently, I'm having a problem playing any type of video on it. The sound is like it is coming from a tunnel/well and the video skips at points in the movie.
Thanks for any help you may provide.
 02/23/2009 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geezer_wheelz
Elite

Posts: 1462
Joined: 09/23/2006

Hi
You could upgrade the ram and get some more life from your system, well that depends on what you are doing with it, if you are just watching videos then a ram upgrade will help big time

You can get some more ram for that system still.
This is a Canadian company but you can find the same stuff pretty much anywhere

It would not hurt to keep your eyes out for a cheap better video card with more ram on it. Yours only has 32mb of ram on the video card, you can easily get a AGP video card with 256mb or more for not very much money. (used mostly)

-------------------------
Asus M4A79 Deluxe, Phenom II 940 BE, 20,770 3D06

Asus Moderator ~ My CPU Overheating Guide
 02/23/2009 08:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lordverizon
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/19/2009

From what the MSI website says of your board its not to picky on ram. if you already have 512 then two more 512 cards should hold over for everything but intense gaming

below is a link to 1gb of ram for 32 dollars, it is within spec of your board.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...?Item=N82E16820141215

set them as dimm 0 and dimm 1, and if that isnt freindly try dimm 0, and dimm 2.
 02/23/2009 08:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

ok look, I see sooooooo many of my clients make this same mistake. There is a safe recomended life span for hardware.

Manufactures recommend replacement of your primary PC every 3 years.

To just throw money into a system that's soooooooo outdated can only end badly.

Not when a new system can be built using 2008 2009 tech for cheaper.

your computer could die tomorrow or could live several more years. But as far as the manufacture is concerned its living on borrowed time.

I have a client that had a socket A 2400+ XP based system with a 6600 AGP graphics card and 2 gig of ram, His software pack crapped out and he wanted new software. So I did just that and his motherboard died 2 weeks later. He would have saved $200.00 in the long run if he had just ordered the new PC to start with.

Now he has a new 9950 BE with 9800 GT with 4 gig DDR 2 1066 being built this week. ( what he should have done in the first place and retired his Athlon XP pc).

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 02/23/2009 at 09:01 PM by PC-GURU -
 03/09/2009 07:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

Well tbh it all depends on what you using the system for - I have my Athlon XP 2400+ still chugigng away nicely. Yes, it's old - but it still does the job. Generally I only really replace the system if it breaks down or can't keep up with what I need it to do.

What are you hoping the upgrade in ram will provide you with? Also, what do you do with this pc (ie. games/general internet/other)?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information