AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: FSB OC problem on 790fx
Topic Summary: Can not increase FSB speed without crashing
Created On: 11/22/2009 10:28 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/22/2009 10:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
icthulu
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/22/2009

I have an AMD 550be in a MSI 790fx-gd70 v1.7 with OC DDR3 1600 2gig x3 set up.

I have been running perfectly smoothly since I installed Win 7 RC back in June with a FSB of 300mhz and running at 3650 on the processor.

I just completed installing Win 7 official, and wouldn't you know it, whenever I even think about adjusting the FSB speed to get the memory speed I want, the system just dies.

I have tried adjustments in BIOS, with AMD's overclock program, and with MSI's overclock program. Nothing at all gets around the problem.

Can someone point me in the right direction or tell me what on earth is going on with Win 7?

Thanks kindly.
 11/22/2009 11:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Nice to see a fsb at 300mhz . What is your max fsb if you have tested for it ? Okay I would say it looks like your new operating system 7 is no stable yet . I would look here at your os first . Is it all updated correctly? I do not run 7 yet , I run Vista 64 HP . How you describe the problem It tells me your os is not stable . Do you have another os besides 7 to confirm this ?

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 11/22/2009 11:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Win 7 RTM/Retail is not the same as Win 7 RC or beta. We all had to re think out overclocking approaches.

If overclocking is ever so important to you, I hear win vista is the way to go lol.

Most of us can run a decent OC in win 7 but not as high as we use to and as stable.

If you start asking all the overclockers in these forums who use win 7 now would gladly confirm this as a massive hassle and disappointment.

That being said, I still love my win 7 and would never go back to vista or xp.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/23/2009 01:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
icthulu
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/22/2009

I loved Win 7 RC. I wish I could just use that instead of installing the legit version. But I needed to buy for the future: Run 64, getting the latest updates, and compatibilities, etc...

As for highest oc? I didn't want to break it. I just wanted my memory to perform better with a modest increase.

It's all updated. The system just freezes or crashes if you try to adjust the FSB even a point. If I adjust it in the BIOS, the mainboard throws up a FF error on the LCD.

No, I don't have the patience to run another OS to confirm this. I can suffer the wait till the OS is adjusted, but I would love to know if there is a way in the interim to touch it up a bit.

I'm tempted to play with the voltages a little bit, but I'm not sure what would be a good setting.
 12/29/2009 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xBlade
Driod

Posts: 181
Joined: 12/15/2009

Ok i was just thinking about this and started another thread and then stumbled in here. I have the 965 be and i was thinking about turning my multiplier down to 12 and then cranking up the FSB to 300 to get me back up to 3.6. I was worried that this would fry the chip but now im thinking it might be stable. I wanted to find a way to run my memory at its rated speed, not because i think it would increase my performance so much as just seeing if it was possible. I would however would like to know what the down side of this could be having the fsb up to 300 when you lower the multi taking your chip from 3.4ghz to 3.6ghz . I know that's not a massive OC but having the fsb from 200 to 300 is massive in my book. So even though your not ocing the speed of the chip much from 3.4, could having the fsb up that high have massive side effects or potentially fry your chip on boot up?

-------------------------
Case- Cooler Master 932 full
Mobo- MSI 790fx
CPU- AMD 965 C3 125watt @ 4ghz
Ram- OCZ amd black edition 1600 4gb
Cooler- Coirsar H-50
Video Cards- xFx 2x5870's
PSU- Rosewill 1000watt
Hard Drives- 1x750gb 32mb 2x1TB 32mb
3x asus 24 inch lcd's 16/9 1080p eyefinity set up

3DMarkVantage Score P-19835
CPU- 13,252 GPU- 23,565
 12/30/2009 01:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Known fact that 64-bit operating systems are less tolerant to system overclocking, especially with the CPU.
I can run 4.0GHz on Vista x86, but it's not stable on Win 7 x64.
Each system will overclock differently, whelther via the multiplier or a combination with a FSB overclock.
Keep in mind that when you OC the FSB, the PCI-E bus, CPU, memory, HT Link, and NB are also overclocked accordingly.
Black Edition CPU's are unique because you can use a combination of different CPU, NB, and HT Link multipliers with a FSB overclock.

300 FSB overclock would probably put the HT Link way beyond it's limit, unless you have a multiplier option in the bios to lower it to stable levels.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 01/25/2010 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

Im running at 261 FSB on a Athlon 620 with Win7x64 6.1.7600 RTM Ultimate can go to 270 depending on which memory stick I use LOL. Still working on that with some DDR3-2000 on the way. Double check all the other setting memory, nb, ht, yada yada as mentioned by others.

Biostar TA785G3
Athlon 620 261x13=3393 1.55v
NB 2610mhz +.15v
HT 2610mhz stockV
AData DDR3-1600 99924@ 1740 10101028 1.7v
ZeroTherm BTF90
Prime95 blend test stable 24/7 48c Max ACPI 45c Max core

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information