AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon II x4 620, 2,6 GHz, 2MB L3
Topic Summary: Overclocking tips for the cheapest x4 solution out there
Created On: 12/05/2009 05:41 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/05/2009 05:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mario_zapresic
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/05/2009

Hi everyone,

I have a Asrock MBO, M3A785GM-LE/128M, and an AMD CPU, Athlon II x4 620.
What are your opinions about maximum OC on the system.
I recently found out that I'll have to wait for a newer version of BIOS in order to
be able to turn the ACC on, since when I turn it on now I can't get the system to
boot. I have to clear BIOS in order to boot normally.
My CPU markings say that it is a Deneb core, and I found a number of users
on the internet that were able to unlock the L3 cache.



Here's a list of my other PC components...

ATI 5750 1GB DDR5 128-bit, PCIe,
2 GB DDR3 1333 MHz Kingston Value,
HDD SATA,
DVD-RW IDE,
Samsung 2233SN.
 12/05/2009 10:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B-Shot
Case Modder

Posts: 1212
Joined: 05/18/2009

The rumor about unlocking the L3 was on the first 2600 chips and any after that it wasn't possible(just rumors I have herd in several places)
Ive benched 3 of these chips on 2 MB's and they have hit a wall for me @3.6-3.7GHz
even with cold water in my wc loop. Other people have gotten them higher to around 4.2 or so but it think it was the ones with unlocked L3 as well.
 01/25/2010 01:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

Ive hit a wall at 261x13=3393mhz I have a true Propus on a Biostar TA785G3. I can boot at 263 but crash at anything higher dispite dropping the multiplier. I believe that those running DDR2 are having better luck than those running DDR3. I run AData 1600 99924 and the odd thing is that one of the sticks will let me boot at 270 the other only 263. I will be getting some DDR2000 becuase I have a hunch that the higher FSB frequency generated is to much for the ram dispite what cpu multi you set it to. Will let you know and if anyone has had luck with high FSB's and DDR3 let me know what your using thanks.

Biostar TA785G3
Athlon 620 261x13=3393mhz 1.55v
NB 2610mhz +.15v
HT 2610mhz stockV
ZeroTherm BTF90
1740mhz 10-10-10-28 1.7v
Prime95 Blend Test Stable 24/7 Max ACPI temp 49c Max core 45c

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 02/21/2010 05:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mario_zapresic
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/05/2009

Great OC....
and very low temps...
 02/25/2010 12:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CAgamer
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/25/2010

hi guys i have the same proccesor on a gigabyte 790xud4 MOBO with stock fan i wanna know if i can go from 2.6-2.8 or 2.9 with the stock fan can i? or will it get too hot.
 02/25/2010 12:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

Originally posted by: CAgamer

hi guys i have the same proccesor on a gigabyte 790xud4 MOBO with stock fan i wanna know if i can go from 2.6-2.8 or 2.9 with the stock fan can i? or will it get too hot.


All depends on the chip and case everyones is different. Try and keep your voltage as low as possible that will keep temps down. Ive seen many get to 3.25 with stock cooler. I had one at 3.4 with a aftermarket HSF. The max temp is 70c. 1.5v and 250fsb should get you to 3.25 as long as your temps are ok and you adjust your memory multi accordingly. What memory are you running, timings voltage speed? I could tell you what to set everything to if you give me that info.

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 02/25/2010 01:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CAgamer
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/25/2010

im running patriot 1333 mhz ddr3 and i dont know where to find the other stuff. i have CPU-Z tho if its in there.
 03/09/2010 12:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
foolontehill
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/08/2010

Originally posted by: slaveondope




All depends on the chip and case everyones is different. Try and keep your voltage as low as possible that will keep temps down. Ive seen many get to 3.25 with stock cooler. I had one at 3.4 with a aftermarket HSF. The max temp is 70c. 1.5v and 250fsb should get you to 3.25 as long as your temps are ok and you adjust your memory multi accordingly. What memory are you running, timings voltage speed? I could tell you what to set everything to if you give me that info.



I have in my sig what I have the 620 clocked at. It seems stable while doing little things, but cant get very far in Prime95.



I think I need to adjust my Memory.
Am running Crucial DDR2 800 (PC2 6400).



Anyone have any Ideas why I cant get past 10 or 15 minutes in Prime95? My temps are stable, never going above 54 when doing OverDrives stress test, which I can run for the full 15 minutes.

-------------------------
ASUS M4A785-M Win7Pro64
AthalonII 620 245x13=3.185Ghz 1.376v
245x8=1960MHz stockV NB
245x8=1960MHz stockV HT
4GB Crucial DDR2@800 490MHz stockV
NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB DDR2
Acer X223W /Dell E153FP
Logitech G15 / Razer Death Adder
 03/09/2010 12:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B-Shot
Case Modder

Posts: 1212
Joined: 05/18/2009

you reached the peak of your ram knock it back to 533 and you should be able to hit 260-270 bus speed
 03/09/2010 01:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
foolontehill
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/08/2010

Thanks, I will try that. It seems if I set it to 260 then my HT would be 2080. That is still in the acceptable range.

-------------------------
ASUS M4A785-M Win7Pro64
AthalonII 620 245x13=3.185Ghz 1.376v
245x8=1960MHz stockV NB
245x8=1960MHz stockV HT
4GB Crucial DDR2@800 490MHz stockV
NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB DDR2
Acer X223W /Dell E153FP
Logitech G15 / Razer Death Adder
 03/10/2010 11:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
foolontehill
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/08/2010

When setting my RAM at 533 the computer wont boot. POST says overclocking failed.


Edit: Passed 11 hours on Prime95 set at 245 with multipliers of 8 on the HT.

-------------------------
ASUS M4A785-M Win7Pro64
AthalonII 620 245x13=3.185Ghz 1.376v
245x8=1960MHz stockV NB
245x8=1960MHz stockV HT
4GB Crucial DDR2@800 490MHz stockV
NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB DDR2
Acer X223W /Dell E153FP
Logitech G15 / Razer Death Adder

Edited: 03/10/2010 at 12:03 PM by foolontehill
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information