AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Cleaning inside of pc
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/13/2009 09:51 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/16/2010 01:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

I put a pen or dowel into the fan while it is off, then I use compressed air.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 03/16/2010 03:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

Is a 27 gallon 8hp compressor to much

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 03/16/2010 04:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unclefester1
Overclocker

Posts: 629
Joined: 11/29/2008

Even an 8hp 27gal. is not enough without a brush to loosen dry dust that has adhered to electronic components.
And like I stated in my previous post, without a in-line water separator it's just like applying glue for dust to stick to!!! Even a $6 machismo 1 would work.

http://www.harborfreight.com/c...12&zmac=112&zmap=43764

-------------------------
Antec 1650B
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 910w
ASUS M3A79-T DeLuxe
1090T x6 @Boiling in the La-Boratory
Corsair H70
OCZ Reaper 8500 2x2 *Pending
ASUS 5970 (under OC investigation)
EVGA 260 55nm (holding pattern)
SeaGate 320x2 16GB Sata
Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
Logitech Z-5500
XP Pro SP2
 03/19/2010 05:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sam.reader
Newbie

Posts: 30
Joined: 03/03/2010

We can use a brush and a normal air blower.
I saw that someone is using a hair blower.
It will just give direct heat to the chip and other components which is not recommended.
The more you blow the more the heat gets accumulated.
Remember we are trying to keep our system as cool as possible not heat it.

-------------------------
Am the King!!!
Tomcat Linux
Tomcat Configuration
Tomcat Logging
 03/22/2010 05:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ceejayxx
Newbie

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/22/2010

Originally posted by: sam.reader

We can use a brush and a normal air blower.

I saw that someone is using a hair blower.

It will just give direct heat to the chip and other components which is not recommended.

The more you blow the more the heat gets accumulated.

Remember we are trying to keep our system as cool as possible not heat it.



You are right but maybe I forgot to say that I have a function for cool air which makes this procedure 100% safe.
 07/23/2010 01:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lvonestopshop
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/23/2010

Well I use the Vacuum cleaners, my computer is not work any more so please easy, because is not good idea to use the Vacuum cleaners. Thanks for the info I reed this forum I need info about to do think ok because I have a new computer so I need to clean my new computer. Thank Lillian good info here.
 07/23/2010 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Speedwayaudio
Overclocker

Posts: 919
Joined: 02/13/2009

I strap my rig to the roof off my truck and run 80 mph down the highway. Gets the dust out, but the bug guts can get a bit messy.

-------------------------
FX 8150 X 8 4.5MHz
Asus Crosshair V
ATI Radeon HD 6950 X2
8 gb Corsair Dominator GT 9-9-9-24@ 1866mhz DDR3
Seagate 7200.10 HDD LG BluRay HD DVD
w/LightScrib
Crucial M4 128 SSD
55"Vizio LCD
Corsair HX 1000 psu
NZXT Phantom Black
Corsair H80 push/pull
Razer Death Adder VooDoo edition mouse and Keyboard.
 08/02/2010 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Deprecated

Posts: 279
Joined: 06/29/2010

love the spam bot. is that for real? what will they think of next

-------------------------
gigabyte ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios f8h,
cpu amd 965-c3 @4.0, silenX efz120ha4 cooler
8gigs patriot memory pgs34g1600llka (1333 cl7), xfx 6970 gpu, xfx 750w power supply.
windows 7 -64
 08/11/2010 11:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
durrenmatt
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/02/2009

I actually use my vacuum cleaner set on high for the most parts and a soft brush for the rams and the rest of the more sensible components.

-------------------------
Fredrick Durrenmatt
 08/11/2010 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Originally posted by: durrenmatt

I actually use my vacuum cleaner set on high for the most parts and a soft brush for the rams and the rest of the more sensible components.


First of all welcome to the forum!!

Secondly....you should probably remove your full name from your signature block.....identity theft is real.

Thirdly....vacuum cleaners build up static electricity when they run which can kill your components. If that was not the case then there would be no such thing as cans of compressed air. Does not happen all of the time and you can get lucky and have no problems at all, but is it really worth the risk?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 09/11/2010 03:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wcharlot
Lurker

Posts: 14
Joined: 09/03/2010

Hi this is really great. Good Job!

This truly a bid help in cleaning my PC interiors. Thank you
 09/18/2010 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

I didn't read the whole thread but just wanted to point out how extremely important it is to keep our rigs dust free , dust in our case becomes magnetized , electrically charged . Clean your case as often as possible and when not in use cover your case .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 09/18/2010 08:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

What if I never turn off my computer

I also just want to say, Canned Air is the ONLY thing you should use to clean out a computer.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information