AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: How to convert Phenom II 720 x3 to x4
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/12/2010 08:45 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/12/2010 08:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
khonjo
Fanboi

Posts: 74
Joined: 02/17/2004

I read an article somewhere which indicated that the forth core in Phenom II 720 x3 might be enabled. I have just assembled a machine with Phenom II 720 x3 and I set ACC(Advanced Clock Calibration) for "All Cores", but both Task Manager and CPU-Z indicate the core counts are still 3. Am I just out of luck?

-------------------------
Mobo: GA-790XTA-UD4, BIOS F2, CPU: Phenom II x4 970, RAM: 4GBx4 DDR3-1600 CL9(Corsair CMX4GX3M2A 1600C9), HDD: 1TB SATA2 x2(Hitachi), Video: Radeon HD5770, PSU: BFG Tech 550W ATX 12V 2.2, OSes: W7x64, Vista x64, W8x64
 01/25/2010 05:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

In ACC there should be something about -2% -4% etc... set it to 2 then 4 also up your core voltage to around 1.35~1.45v this is the voltage the a x4 920 use which is what your chip will turn into if it unlocks. The extra voltage is needed since more cores are being used.

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 01/25/2010 08:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
I3r0k3n7FEET
Deprecated

Posts: 266
Joined: 01/25/2010

what motherboard do you have? not all boards support unlocking and even then its not likely it will be stable.. you have to be really lucky for that..

-------------------------
 02/03/2010 06:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
khonjo
Fanboi

Posts: 74
Joined: 02/17/2004

Sorry for late reply.
I tried up to 1.4V for the VCore with 3300MHz core speed setting but the numbers of core stayed 3 and the system became unstable. So, I quit at this point thinking that I got no luck for unlocking the fourth core.
I set the VCore for 1.35V and the core clock for 3200MHz. Prime95 ran OK so I left the system with these settings.
My mobo is GA-790XTA-UD4 with 2GB x4 DDR3 1600 CL9(Corsair CMX4GX3M2A 1600C9) running at 669MHz.

-------------------------
Mobo: GA-790XTA-UD4, BIOS F2, CPU: Phenom II x4 970, RAM: 4GBx4 DDR3-1600 CL9(Corsair CMX4GX3M2A 1600C9), HDD: 1TB SATA2 x2(Hitachi), Video: Radeon HD5770, PSU: BFG Tech 550W ATX 12V 2.2, OSes: W7x64, Vista x64, W8x64
 02/05/2010 05:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
randomkid
Fanboi

Posts: 95
Joined: 11/03/2009

to Khonjo:
I have an MSI 790FX-GD70 and successfully unlocked my X3 720BE. In my motherboard, there is not just ACC that you have to enable. It has "EC Firmware" or something like that right above it and only available on BIOS v1.6. You can choose "normal" to active ACC without unlocking hidden core or "special" which unlocks the hidden.

I can not see in Gigabyte website whether your mobo can unlock. In MSI, there is specific BIOS release that say "to enable unlocking hidden core" or something to that effect.

But in any case, go to your BIOS and check every setting on the top and bottom of the ACC setting. Look at the description of this setting as it is flashed everytime you highlight the setting.

Please note however that even if you have such setting, it is possible that your X3 720BE might not unlock.

-------------------------
MSI 790FX-GD70;AMDX3 720BE 4cores;Xigmatek-SD964;HIS HD4890 1GB iCoolerX4;4GB G.Skill DDR3 1600;2x500GB WD Black in RAID0; Corsair 620HX;Case AZZA Helios 910;Logitech Z-5500 5.1; 32"LG FullHD LCDTV; Samsung 17" 743NX
 04/03/2010 09:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
khonjo
Fanboi

Posts: 74
Joined: 02/17/2004

randomkid:

Sorry for this late, late reply.
I have come to conclude that the fourth core on my 720 is really dead. There is a setting in my BIOS which can be either "Normal" or "Hybrid". The default is Normal and Hybrid is selected for unlocking. I tried the Hybrid and it caused the POSTing to stall.
Thanks for your help.

-------------------------
Mobo: GA-790XTA-UD4, BIOS F2, CPU: Phenom II x4 970, RAM: 4GBx4 DDR3-1600 CL9(Corsair CMX4GX3M2A 1600C9), HDD: 1TB SATA2 x2(Hitachi), Video: Radeon HD5770, PSU: BFG Tech 550W ATX 12V 2.2, OSes: W7x64, Vista x64, W8x64
 04/03/2010 10:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

here you go, the best you can find-
AMD Phenom II Core Unlocking Guide for X2 550BE / X3 710 & 720BE


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 04/03/2010 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
khonjo
Fanboi

Posts: 74
Joined: 02/17/2004

Originally posted by: dimwit13

here you go, the best you can find-

AMD Phenom II Core Unlocking Guide for X2 550BE / X3 710 & 720BE

-dimwit-


That is very detailed and extensive write-up about over-clocking and unlocking cpu. Thank you very much for your help.

-------------------------
Mobo: GA-790XTA-UD4, BIOS F2, CPU: Phenom II x4 970, RAM: 4GBx4 DDR3-1600 CL9(Corsair CMX4GX3M2A 1600C9), HDD: 1TB SATA2 x2(Hitachi), Video: Radeon HD5770, PSU: BFG Tech 550W ATX 12V 2.2, OSes: W7x64, Vista x64, W8x64
 04/03/2010 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

your welcome.
as i said the best you can find-OCN has everything you ever need for answers.


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information