AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Overclocking Athlon II X4 620 with Gigabyte-MA785GMT-UD2H
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/13/2010 06:57 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/13/2010 06:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cburbs
Newbie

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/04/2010

Here is my setup:
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU Fan: XIGMATEK Intel Core i7 compatible Dark Knight

CPU: AMD Athlon X4 620

Memory: G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

Power Supply: BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V T

I just starting testing this combo and overclocking. With only changing the CPU Frequency and nothing else I can get the CPU Frequency to 2.5 which is 3.38.
Once I jump to 260 my PC just keeps rebooting.

I read that the HT Link should be no higher than 2000Mhz. Is this true?

Now in my Bios setup how is the HT link Frequency and the CPU Northbridge Frequency related? Do both of these need to be set to the same multiplier if I change one do I need to change the other?

Anything else I should be looking at to get the max out of this?
 01/25/2010 12:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

I have had close to similiar problems around 260 fsb. Heres what i run.
Biostar TA785G3 785N 710S
Athlon 620
ZeroTherm BTF90
AData DDR3-1600 99924 1.65v 2x2gb

Now what im set at
261FSBx13=3393mhz 1.55v
2610mhz NB +.15v
2610mhz HT stock volt
1333/3.33x mem. multi. =1740mhz@10101028 1.7v

You should be looking at up voltage at this point on the cpu and nb. If youd rather you can keep the nb near 2ghz and should need to touch its voltage. In my BIOS if you limit the NB to X8 it does the same for the HT basically you can set the NB higer than the HT but not the HT higher than NB. Anyways keep your memory, NB, and HT, as close to stock for now to find the max FSB. Really simple math is only involved.

DDR800 = FSBx2
DDR1066= FSBx2.66
1333 = FSBx3.33
1600 = FSBx4

So for your memory you want to be at 260x2.66=1383mhz close enough to stock if you havent done this your running at 260x3.33=1731mhz which would be pushing your memory real hard and most likely unstable. Second thing you want to do is set NB and HT multi's to 260x8=2080mhz close enough. Now after that try and boot if no go try upping the cpu voltage .05v then .1v if still no success then i think your running into the same problem Im having with memory reference clock(FSB) being to high for RAM see below. Hope you understand this remember everythings speed is based off of the FSB and then multiplied you try to keep all other components near stock by adjusting multi's.

This is rock solid prime95 blend test 24/7 stable temps no higher than 48c on ACPI 45c on cores. Now the odd thing is I reboot over and over with no post when set to 264 no matter what changes I make and BIOS roles back clock speed due to to many cold restarts. 263 is prime95 small ftps stable (doesnt test ram) but fails blend test that stresses memory. The really odd thing is that I can run just this one particular stick of ram and boot at up to 270. The other stick wont. Im going to order some DDR2000 sticks and see if i cant hit 3.9ghz+ like Ive seen some do with DDR2 it seems that lower end DDR3 cant handle the higher FSB frequencys.

Well good luck and keep me posted. Shared knowledge is power and progress.

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information