AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Can anyone help me please Overclock my computer. AMD Phenom II x4 940 BE
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/17/2010 12:40 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/17/2010 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tazjamin
Newbie

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/17/2010

I was reading the topic about the other guys cpu and wanted to overclock mine but was afraid mine could be different with my combination of parts but i did buy the everest ultimate edition can anyone please help me. he is my specs from everest.
now i am learning so my lingo might not be good so i may be asking alot of questions and i think the motherboard has some sort of Overclocking program built into it?my computer has also been freezing for a few sec i dont think that has anything to do here but if anyone may know how to fix it that would be great. i was really bad on vista before i change to windows 7 but i still have that problem here and there. thank you

CPU Properties:
CPU Type QuadCore AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 940
CPU Alias Deneb
CPU Stepping RB-C2
Engineering Sample No
CPUID CPU Name AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 940 Processor
CPUID Revision 00100F42h
CPU VID 1.3250 V
North Bridge VID 1.1750 V

CPU Speed:
CPU Clock 3010.1 MHz
CPU Multiplier 15x
CPU FSB 200.7 MHz (original: 200 MHz)
HyperTransport Clock 1806.0 MHz
North Bridge Clock 1806.0 MHz
Memory Bus 401.3 MHz
DRAM:FSB Ratio 12:6

CPU Cache:
L1 Code Cache 64 KB per core
L1 Data Cache 64 KB per core
L2 Cache 512 KB per core (On-Die, ECC, Full-Speed)
L3 Cache 6 MB (On-Die, ECC, NB-Speed)

Motherboard Properties:
Motherboard ID 64-1601-000001-00101111-091009-AMD 790GX$A1153000_BIOS DATE: 09/10/09 12:49:37 VER: 08.00.15
Motherboard Name Asus M4A78-E (2 PCI, 2 PCI-E x1, 2 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, Video, Gigabit LAN, IEEE-1394)

Chipset Properties:
Motherboard Chipset AMD 790GX, AMD K10
Memory Timings 5-5-5-15 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Command Rate (CR) 2T
DIMM1: G Skill F2-8500CL5-2GBPK 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-10 @ 266 MHz)
DIMM2: G Skill F2-8500CL5-2GBPK 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-10 @ 266 MHz)

BIOS Properties:
System BIOS Date 09/10/09
Video BIOS Date 05/02/08
DMI BIOS Version 1601

Graphics Processor Properties:
Video Adapter ATI Radeon HD 3300 (RS780D)
GPU Code Name RS780D (Integrated 1002 / 9614, Rev 00)
GPU Clock 494 MHz (original: 500 MHz)

-------------------------
David K Ostrander
 01/25/2010 04:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

Try reading up on some forums overclocking guides first. You have one of the easiest cpus to overclock due to it being a black edition. The easiest thing to do is turn up the cpu multiplier yours should be set at 15 stock just bump it up little by little. If it crashes with a blue screen or locks up completely take it back down until it stops crashing. Aside from that download AMD Overdrive and tell it to Auto Clock your system it will take sometime with crashes freezes and you will have to tell it to resume the last session each time but it is just trying to find what is the highest stable setting. Beyond that read learn and think others can't do it for you. Each computer just like people is different.

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel

Edited: 01/25/2010 at 04:55 AM by slaveondope
 01/25/2010 07:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
I3r0k3n7FEET
Deprecated

Posts: 266
Joined: 01/25/2010

what cooler do you have? overclocking on stock cooler is never a really good idea but if you want you should be able to up the mulitplier to 17x @ stock volts to bump it to 3.4 ghz fine. its a nice boost make sure you turn cool and quiet off.

-------------------------
 03/30/2010 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cray over clocking
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/30/2010

im running a amd 2 x3 720 at 3.8 ghz temps running around 92f 98f with stock fan on processor and i just turned up the fan to 3100rpm i also have a great case for cooling thats key antec 902 it runs so cool
 04/27/2010 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KingSam15
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/07/2009

download AMD Overdrive for an Auto Clock to 3.5 Ghz for ur CPU/.
 05/02/2010 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
A.J.I
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/02/2010

it depend on your cooling

-------------------------
http://jualinternetmurah.wordpress.com"

[url=http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1154183][/url]

AMD ever after
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information