AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Thermaltake Bigwater
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/17/2004 10:06 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/18/2004 09:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jimi
Senior Member

Posts: 778
Joined: 10/29/2004

QUOTE (IntelOwnsALL @ Nov 18 2004, 06:44 PM) so, if i got the thermaltake set for my first water cooling set, and later when i get money icant add the 6800 block to it?
and then add a better pump?
i thought it was all interchangeable...


but that setup i had...was it bettter than the Tt bigwater?
I don't really know much about the Tt stuff but looking at the tubing, it does look pretty thin!
But it's upto you... A lot of people have advised you on buying DD or Asetek but it's your decision!
I did a lot of research using Google maybe you should do the same.

-------------------------
DFI CFX3200 DR | AMD Opt 170 2.75GHz | 2GB G.Skill HZ | ATI X1900CF Edition



<img src="http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/8848/xfire
 11/18/2004 09:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bloody_Sorcerer
Senior Member

Posts: 471
Joined: 08/19/2004

QUOTE (Stix @ Nov 18 2004, 03:28 PM) The pump is fine and leaves enuff to cool GFX card. Are you speaking from facts or thin air? You used the TT system?
christ, attacking me for commenting on the pump... but yeah, i have second-hand expereince with it (my friend has one) it's not bad... his temps (AXP 2600+) are still higher than my frined's (who uses air(A64 3000+)). the pump just looks kinda dinky compared to others (like ehiem pumps... )
if you've got the money, get a DD.

-------------------------
PLEASE SPEAK CLEARLY AND CONCISELY WITH PROPER SPELLING AND AT LEAST DECENT GRAMMAR!

Back... From the grave...
"January's 'Sock and Awe'..." -Ardrid, on future AMD developments.
<Mime> you know, it's possible to be conscious without a pulse ;)
 11/18/2004 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stix
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4617
Joined: 03/01/2004

QUOTE (Bloody_Sorcerer @ Nov 18 2004, 06:52 PM) christ, attacking me for commenting on the pump... but yeah, i have second-hand expereince with it (my friend has one) it's not bad... his temps (AXP 2600+) are still higher than my frined's (who uses air(A64 3000+)). the pump just looks kinda dinky compared to others (like ehiem pumps... )
if you've got the money, get a DD.
Just what I thought Thin air. And attacking no... Wanting you to provide facts yes.
 11/18/2004 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bloody_Sorcerer
Senior Member

Posts: 471
Joined: 08/19/2004

want facts? hows this. the bigwater pump puts out about 31 gallons per hour. the Hydor L35 knocks in at 320 GPH. over 10 times the gallons per hour. How's that do? if that doesn't suffice i'll go see if i can dredge up some reviews of the bigwater somewhere.
Also, the L35 uses 1/2" ID fittings, while the bigwater uses 3/8" ID fittings. fitting sizes can result in big differences in performance.

-------------------------
PLEASE SPEAK CLEARLY AND CONCISELY WITH PROPER SPELLING AND AT LEAST DECENT GRAMMAR!

Back... From the grave...
"January's 'Sock and Awe'..." -Ardrid, on future AMD developments.
<Mime> you know, it's possible to be conscious without a pulse ;)
 11/18/2004 10:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stix
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4617
Joined: 03/01/2004

QUOTE (Bloody_Sorcerer @ Nov 18 2004, 07:27 PM) want facts? hows this. the bigwater pump puts out about 31 gallons per hour. the Hydor L35 knocks in at 320 GPH. over 10 times the gallons per hour. How's that do? if that doesn't suffice i'll go see if i can dredge up some reviews of the bigwater somewhere.
Also, the L35 uses 1/2" ID fittings, while the bigwater uses 3/8" ID fittings. fitting sizes can result in big differences in performance.
And you can read very good. Does not mean it cannot perform does it ? Nope. Fact is your talking out your [content edited].
Its a good system that performs well. To say to stay away from it because of the pump is ridiculous. I can post links to it as well thats easy.
http://www.gruntville.com/revi...herm...water/page8.php' ">http://www.gruntville.com/revi...ake_bigwater/page8.php
 11/18/2004 10:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bloody_Sorcerer
Senior Member

Posts: 471
Joined: 08/19/2004

i didnt say it couldn't perform, i said there were things that performed far better.
heres a link to some comparisons between it and alot of other units.' ">http://www.a1-electronics.net/...ake_BigWater_pg3.shtml

-------------------------
PLEASE SPEAK CLEARLY AND CONCISELY WITH PROPER SPELLING AND AT LEAST DECENT GRAMMAR!

Back... From the grave...
"January's 'Sock and Awe'..." -Ardrid, on future AMD developments.
<Mime> you know, it's possible to be conscious without a pulse ;)
 11/18/2004 10:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stix
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4617
Joined: 03/01/2004

For the price of Bigwater perform far better no.
best $105 I spent.
And the price of those units is alot higher.
 11/18/2004 10:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bloody_Sorcerer
Senior Member

Posts: 471
Joined: 08/19/2004

except... it gets beaten by the Thermalright SLK-948U...

-------------------------
PLEASE SPEAK CLEARLY AND CONCISELY WITH PROPER SPELLING AND AT LEAST DECENT GRAMMAR!

Back... From the grave...
"January's 'Sock and Awe'..." -Ardrid, on future AMD developments.
<Mime> you know, it's possible to be conscious without a pulse ;)
 11/18/2004 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stix
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4617
Joined: 03/01/2004

QUOTE (Bloody_Sorcerer @ Nov 18 2004, 07:38 PM) except... it gets beaten by the Thermalright SLK-948U...
All in the way its set up. Can be set up 3 ways and get higher temps depending on which way.
http://www.tweakzone.nl/extreviews/3378' ">http://www.tweakzone.nl/extreviews/3378
http://www.overclockercafe.com.../coo...gwater/pg4.html' ">http://www.overclockercafe.com...g/Tt_Bigwater/pg4.html
 11/18/2004 10:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

from those comparasions the aquarious 3 looks good...maybe il get that

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 11/19/2004 10:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeyPez
Senior Member

Posts: 1528
Joined: 10/14/2004

I dunno but water cooling scares me, you know you have been taught that water and electricity don't mix. Imagine if the tubing had a slight leak, FUBAR for your PC.

-------------------------

Vinatge AMD at SocketAplus
A single jpeg will make fat little rich kids cry. That is pretty powerful! - AndrewZorn
 11/19/2004 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Java
Elite

Posts: 2298
Joined: 10/05/2003

I would say that water cooling would be considered a mod., therefore moved from Genearal Chat.


As for WC, I am running a Hydro cool without any problems. No leakage. Don't get as good of numbers as 17C, but it did drop my temps about 10-15C from stock air cooling.

I have an FX 51 and I run anywhere from 27-35C under load.

-------------------------
There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary and those that don't.

Java
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

System 1: A64 X2 4800 | A8N SLI Del. | 6800GT | TT Tsunami | WD 80GB HD | Plextor DVD R/W | 1GB Corsair Pro, 1GB Crucial Balistix<br>System 2 (Wife's): A64 460
 11/19/2004 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

QUOTE (Rico @ Nov 18 2004, 05:57 PM) or get a Tt bigwater and dd waterblock
will the be compatable?

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 11/19/2004 06:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

is this
http://svc.com/koexalexlico.html' ">http://svc.com/koexalexlico.html
a good deal??
can i hook a cpu and gpu and chipset block to it???
or is the aquarius 3 better?


is this a good deal?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISA...iewI...ssPageName=WDVW' ">http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISA...1&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW


-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » General Modding and Tips » Thermaltake Bigwater

<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information