AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Get Rig of Dust
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/14/2004 04:20 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/14/2004 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

How we can get rig of all dust?!
I get all my inblowing fans with dust-nets,
it is no point to do this in out going fans. But there are always some dust coming into my case. sticking on the Graphic Card, Sticking on the Soundcard.
Graphic Card fans also suck up some dust, too.

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 12/14/2004 04:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

I think its about impossible to avoid. Someone could correct me but sooner or later you gotta clean your stuff.

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 12/14/2004 05:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

I agree with Sepheroth. No matter what you use, you will always have some sort of dust build up.

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 12/14/2004 07:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

I have to clean out my PC every two weeks or so. The case is on the floor and the dog rather like sitting beside it (its just like a heater in his eyes) and all his hair gets inside my PC, have to clean it out of the HSF every two weeks or my temps skyrocket.

I've tried putting fine net, cloth and that mosquito net stuff over all the intakes I can find, and the stuff still gets in.

Get yourself a can of compressed air though. Someone recommended that to me, and it really does help, the dust and hair comes out in clumps.
 12/14/2004 09:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Old Camper
Senior Member

Posts: 1741
Joined: 06/13/2004

I just can't imagine dog hair getting in, insane

My Sonata comes with an air filter on the front, although much dust still gets into the case, I know it stops some of the dust (as I have to clean the filter on a regular basis..and this topic has reminded me to go and do it right now ).

-------------------------
One day, humanity will advance forward and leave behind our humble little world to reach innumerable heights of technology, evolution and civilization, to bring our imaginations into the unsuspecting universe and ourselves... play God.
| Email/MSN: old_camper@hotmail.com | Visit the SSAA | IRC @ #forums.amd.irc on irc.d
 12/16/2004 06:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VIPER-X
Senior Member

Posts: 967
Joined: 10/23/2004

must say im not keen on useing a can of compressed air you can end up blowing the dust into places you would rather it not be. Use a Clean fine bristled brush and one of those small computer vacuum cleaners, or carefully use a normal vacuum cleaner and hold it above where you are cleaning.



-------------------------
YOU CAN RUN. . . .YOU'LL JUST DIE TIRED
Athlon64 3500+ NewCastle Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF Lapped and useing Arctic Silver 5,Antec NeoPower 480 PSU,Pioneer DVD burner
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
TWINX1024-3200XL latency values of 2-2-2-5
ATI Radeon X800 256mg (256bit memory interface)
2 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA in RAID 0
 12/16/2004 07:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Missile Maker
Senior Member

Posts: 1910
Joined: 08/05/2004

If you can keep your rig up an a destop, that helps considerably. I disagree about the canned air. I use it, and it works great ; the ones with the needle thin tube tips are the best. If you've done a really clean cable job, that helps as well.
MM

-------------------------
3700+ Zalman CNPS9500
DFI LP nF3 250GB
2x512 OCZ DDR400 ELPR2
6800GT AC nV Silencer 5
2X80GB 1x100GB in JBOD
Antec TB 480W
Lian-Li V1100
 12/16/2004 07:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

Hmm......the "Dust Free PC-on-the-Ceiling Mod" might be a good route for me to take.
 12/17/2004 10:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

Well, it is the "best" solution, Le_Petit_Lapin sir.
But I should say, the home should not just being engineered. You know, there is lots of dust coming out fomr the ceiling right after the home engineered.

By the way, you will need a cable-pipe for those long cable...just except the power cable...because you plug the power cable to the Air-conditioner's socket.

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 12/25/2004 05:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nolano
Senior Member

Posts: 3257
Joined: 04/26/2004

I like to use compressed air and a vacuum to remove what the air gets out. make sure you turn of the PC and do proper grounding first.
 12/25/2004 11:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PowerPlant05
Senior Member

Posts: 284
Joined: 01/14/2004

I believe compressed air works the best IMO...We carry it by the boxes at work and dont use anything else. It does a good job at blowing the dust out of the components but the cans dont last long..

-------------------------
Coming Soon:
Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Tagan 480W PSU
M.A.S.S. Computers Inc.' ">http://www.masscomputers.com/
 12/26/2004 02:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Old Camper
Senior Member

Posts: 1741
Joined: 06/13/2004

Maybe your work should consider buying an air compressor by the sounds of it.

-------------------------
One day, humanity will advance forward and leave behind our humble little world to reach innumerable heights of technology, evolution and civilization, to bring our imaginations into the unsuspecting universe and ourselves... play God.
| Email/MSN: old_camper@hotmail.com | Visit the SSAA | IRC @ #forums.amd.irc on irc.d
 12/27/2004 02:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dangerforesight
Member

Posts: 130
Joined: 12/12/2004

An air-compressor? Lol. Man for that amount of money and weekly effort you could get rid of fans altogether! Find a better solution to your dust problem than cleaning everyweek. If you could get your computer off the ground, it would make a big difference. But I understand if you like making your dogs day, I love dogs myself. I managed to get rid of all the fans in my case by being a bit, err, innovative...yeah, that's it, innovative. lol. Spare me.

Check out the link: Project: A Cold Sweat' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=33037
 12/27/2004 03:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sambjo
Senior Member

Posts: 1905
Joined: 03/31/2004

I like using compressed air. I also like to take the components out of the PC and clean them one-by-one (esp. case fans and graphic cards).

Just make sure you keep the can upright.

-------------------------
General discussion on IRC @ irc.protium.org / #forums.amd.irc ::: Folding for 34106

A64 2800 @ 2.2GHz | eVGA 6800 - NVS5 | VNF3-250 | TG-480 | ThermalTake Tsunami | Hitachi 7K250 | WD800JB
 01/18/2005 12:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
91RX-7 Boy
Senior Member

Posts: 2938
Joined: 12/29/2004

what about a air compressor blowing cold air into ur comp at a fixed rate and like two outlet fans
 01/20/2005 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

Can a compress air unit be home made?
I tried to put two cheap fans into a same duct..

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 01/20/2005 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Troller
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/18/2005

I allways thought it would be cool to pre-plumb a case with tubing and a fitting on the outside of the case so you could hook up a can of compressed air and blast the fans, video card and whatnot without opening the case. I suppose you would need to really think out the directions the tubing was pointing to actually get the dust out of the case.

Anyone ever try this? I am planning on trying it with my next system I build but my wife has other ideas on me building another PC. I hate crawling under my desk and dealing with the rats nest of wires in behind my PC.

-------------------------
"The doctor says I wouldn't get so many nose bleeds if I would just keep my finger out of there"
 04/19/2005 01:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
evilman2500
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 04/18/2005

I actually have to take one computer we have out back to the shop and use the air compressor on it monthly because its gets to running crappy from heat and dust. that computers is a crappy old compaq. I think maybe I will blow it up one day

-------------------------
Speed is life....
 04/20/2005 04:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cow8mynuts
Senior Member

Posts: 1079
Joined: 11/30/2003

yup dust and heat can crap up a pc, lastnight i was playing cod uo muilt and the colors where screwing up and i thought oh man i guess a an updated driver screwed up things, but nope my video which is a bfg 6800 oc temp was at 67c.

-------------------------


my healthzone
 04/20/2005 04:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

67C wouldn't even phase a 6800. Max die temp is about 135C. I'm thinking it may well have been a driver issue.

-Adam
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information