AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: why cant i o/c my 3700+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/25/2005 02:56 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/25/2005 02:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
s1ick
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 11/25/2005

I set my overclock options to 10% and lowered my memory so that it is at 200mhz.After i have saved the setting my computer does not boot up, but instead i get a black screen.I have tried just 8% overclock and my pc booted but it did not even work.It was still running at 2200mhz.Any help would be appreciated.

here are my computer specs

operating sysytem: xp home
Processor: amd althon 64 bit 3700+
RAM: 1gb corsair (pc3200)DDR dual channel
Motherboard: asus a8n5x nforce4
Video Card: radeon x850 pro 256 gddr3 ram pci-e
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs
PSU: 450

-------------------------
Processor: amd althon 64 bit 3700+
RAM: 1gb corsair (pc3200)DDR dual channel
Motherboard: asus a8n5x nforce4
Video Card: radeon x850 pro 256 gddr3 ram
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs
PSU: 450
 11/25/2005 03:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

Did you lock the PCI bus before you rebooted? That could cause it not to boot up.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 11/25/2005 03:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
s1ick
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 11/25/2005

QUOTE(bp1019 @ Nov 25 2005, 02:10 AM)Did you lock the PCI bus before you rebooted?  That could cause it not to boot up.
[right][snapback]553451[/snapback][/right]


How do u lock the pci bus?




-------------------------
Processor: amd althon 64 bit 3700+
RAM: 1gb corsair (pc3200)DDR dual channel
Motherboard: asus a8n5x nforce4
Video Card: radeon x850 pro 256 gddr3 ram
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs
PSU: 450
 11/25/2005 03:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

QUOTE(s1ick @ Nov 25 2005, 03:18 AM)How do u lock the pci bus?
[right][snapback]553453[/snapback][/right]


There should be a setting in the BIOS that says something like PCI bus. You will want to change it from AUTO to 66/33mhz. Look through your BIOS and you should be able to find the PCI bus setting.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 11/25/2005 04:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
s1ick
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 11/25/2005

QUOTE(bp1019 @ Nov 25 2005, 02:55 AM)There should be a setting in the BIOS that says something like PCI bus.  You will want to change it from AUTO to 66/33mhz.  Look through your BIOS and you should be able to find the PCI bus setting.
[right][snapback]553465[/snapback][/right]


i found it and changed it to 33mhz and still no luck on getting my comp to start /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /> with just a 10% overclock.any more suggestions?

-------------------------
Processor: amd althon 64 bit 3700+
RAM: 1gb corsair (pc3200)DDR dual channel
Motherboard: asus a8n5x nforce4
Video Card: radeon x850 pro 256 gddr3 ram
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs
PSU: 450
 11/25/2005 04:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

What PSU is it? All it says is 450. List the 12V rail's amps. They will be listed on the side of the PSU. Also, what were your idle and load temps before you started OCing? Could it be getting too hot? Another thing is, run memtest86 on your RAM and make sure you don't get any errors. Check those out. Bump your post later in the morning if you don't hear back. I'm going to bed. /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 11/25/2005 09:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
s1ick
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 11/25/2005

QUOTE(bp1019 @ Nov 25 2005, 03:26 AM)What PSU is it? All it says is 450.  List the 12V rail's amps.  They will be listed on the side of the PSU.  Also, what were your idle and load temps before you started OCing?  Could it be getting too hot?  Another thing is, run memtest86 on your RAM and make sure you don't get any errors.  Check those out.  Bump your post later in the morning if you don't hear back.  I'm going to bed.  /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />
[right][snapback]553478[/snapback][/right]


No memory errors and i dont know about the power supply.I think i am just dumb and dont know what i am doing.I would like to know all the step in overclocking a amd cpu. i think that would help /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />


-------------------------
Processor: amd althon 64 bit 3700+
RAM: 1gb corsair (pc3200)DDR dual channel
Motherboard: asus a8n5x nforce4
Video Card: radeon x850 pro 256 gddr3 ram
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs
PSU: 450
 11/25/2005 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

QUOTE(s1ick @ Nov 25 2005, 09:25 AM)No memory errors and i dont know about the power supply.I think i am just dumb and dont know what i am doing.I would like to know all the step in overclocking a amd cpu. i think that would help /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
[right][snapback]553540[/snapback][/right]



Check CH. 1 part 3 in this: http://forums.extremeoverclock...show...ad.php?t=107925' ">http://forums.extremeoverclock...howthread.php?t=107925. That should get you going.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 11/25/2005 08:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
s1ick
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 11/25/2005

QUOTE(bp1019 @ Nov 25 2005, 12:18 PM)Check CH. 1 part 3 in this: http://forums.extremeoverclock...show...ad.php?t=107925' ">http://forums.extremeoverclock...howthread.php?t=107925.  That should get you going.
[right][snapback]553662[/snapback][/right]

thanks this will help :-)


-------------------------
Processor: amd althon 64 bit 3700+
RAM: 1gb corsair (pc3200)DDR dual channel
Motherboard: asus a8n5x nforce4
Video Card: radeon x850 pro 256 gddr3 ram
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs
PSU: 450
 12/18/2005 11:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AussieFX
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 08/04/2005

QUOTE(s1ick @ Nov 26 2005, 09:43 AM)thanks this will help :-)
[right][snapback]553924[/snapback][/right]

you can try updating your bios I've had this trouble with an asus mobo before

-------------------------
DFI LanParty ut nF4 SLI-DR expert, AMD FX-53, 2gb Corsair xpert 3200c2pro, 1xWD 80gb IDE,
2xWD 120gb sata striped, 2x XFX 7900 gt, Pioneer dvr109, LG dvd multi DVD-RAM,
Logitech Z5500 speakers, Logitech G7/G15, Antec truecontrol 550w PSU



 12/20/2005 04:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
s1ick
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 11/25/2005

QUOTE(AussieFX @ Dec 18 2005, 10:28 AM)you can try updating your bios I've had this trouble with an asus mobo before
[right][snapback]569349[/snapback][/right]


i have figured it out and now have my 3700+ o/c to an fx 55.Thanks for the help /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />

-------------------------
Processor: amd althon 64 bit 3700+
RAM: 1gb corsair (pc3200)DDR dual channel
Motherboard: asus a8n5x nforce4
Video Card: radeon x850 pro 256 gddr3 ram
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs
PSU: 450
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information