AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Assigning applications to one logic core
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/17/2005 03:10 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/17/2005 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Couldn'tthinkofanythingcute
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/15/2005

Some members have made reference to a modification that allows one program, usually a game, to take priority on one of the two logic cores. I use a voice recognition program that, like games, consumes a significant percentage of the CPU's resources. One retailer of voice recognition-optimized desktop systems claims his dual core computers come with a customized bios that essentially allows the voice recognition software to run on its own CPU.

I would like to know if it is possible to make such changes and, if so, how difficult it is to make them.

Thanks in advance.
 09/18/2005 01:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Masashi
Senior Member

Posts: 408
Joined: 03/27/2005

Read this thread /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=53288&hl=<---click

-------------------------
We have reason to believe in infinity, but everything we know ends.

An optimist thinks that this is the best possible world. A pessimist fears that this is true.
 09/18/2005 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Couldn'tthinkofanythingcute
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/15/2005

Thank you very very much. That is the most informative discussion I have read on any topic in months. I will share this with the rest of the voice recognition community.
 09/19/2005 08:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Masashi
Senior Member

Posts: 408
Joined: 03/27/2005

np. happy to help

Masashi

-------------------------
We have reason to believe in infinity, but everything we know ends.

An optimist thinks that this is the best possible world. A pessimist fears that this is true.
 10/09/2005 01:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Takezo_dono
Senior Member

Posts: 278
Joined: 06/10/2004

BTW Athlon X2 don't have 2 logical cores. They have two physical cores. Pentium 4s with HT have 2 logical cores, but only one physical core.

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information