AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: How can I remove the white ram holder tab?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/01/2005 08:53 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/01/2005 08:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rico
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3439
Joined: 04/19/2004

My AC ATi Silencer 5r.2 hits one of the white RAM holding clips so the card can't be fully inserted. I'd like to remove the white clip and use my dremel to take it down by about 1/4" so it fits. Does anyone know how to do this, or any guides on how to with pics?

I tried googling but maybe I wasn't searching for the right thing because I couldn't find much of anything.

Thanks,
-Colin

-------------------------
AMD X2 4200+ *** DFI NF4 Ultra-D (modded to SLi-D) *** eVGA 7950GT (with Zalman FC-ZV9)
January 16th was the day life changed... the day I bought WoW
 10/02/2005 12:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moose64
Senior Member

Posts: 836
Joined: 03/26/2005

QUOTE(Rico @ Oct 1 2005, 08:53 PM)My AC ATi Silencer 5r.2 hits one of the white RAM holding clips so the card can't be fully inserted. I'd like to remove the white clip and use my dremel to take it down by about 1/4" so it fits. Does anyone know how to do this, or any guides on how to with pics?

I tried googling but maybe I wasn't searching for the right thing because I couldn't find much of anything.

Thanks,
-Colin
[right][snapback]513768[/snapback][/right]

Is the slot being use by ram if not maybe you could cut it back,but you could hurt the motherboard in the process of taking it out off the slot.I would not do it! /excl.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='excl.gif' />

-------------------------
Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 ,Xeon x3360
Cooler Master COSMOS Case,
4G OCZ DDR3 1600 2x2G 7.6.6.24 @2T
HIS 3870x2
WD 150G Raptor x2 0Raid & WD 250G Storage Drive.
Antec Quattro 1000Watt PS
Vista 64Bit.
 10/02/2005 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rico
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3439
Joined: 04/19/2004

Thats the thing, I'm going to be getting 1gb (2x512) and need the other slot so I can dual channel the ram, or even make it work.

-------------------------
AMD X2 4200+ *** DFI NF4 Ultra-D (modded to SLi-D) *** eVGA 7950GT (with Zalman FC-ZV9)
January 16th was the day life changed... the day I bought WoW
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information