AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dell to ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/22/2005 10:39 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/22/2005 10:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stealth13777
Senior Member

Posts: 895
Joined: 12/23/2004

Im in the process of taking about 1/8 of a dell case and turning it into a fully custom brand new case.. Im using the back framework, along with about half of one side and the cases that hold drives. It's going to end up looking fairly triangular in shape, with a black mettalic finish on it just like many cases sold. Ever part of the case that will be visible will be made of sheet metal and a little bit of circuitboard IO have lying around. Im not sure what exactly to say itll look like, but def not a computer, thats for sure. I dont have any pics yet, but I will soon. Itll probably have a duron cpu in it, not really a powerhouse, but its only use will be programming on the go... itll function like a jumbo sized laptop (that has to be plugged in). In the end it will be mounted on a battery powered cart used to move my teams FIRST (circuitrunners.com or usfirst.org) robot around during competitons, and it will be hooked up to a massive battery supply (minimum of 70min battery life), allowing us to program and run diagnostics anywhere... and itll cost much less than a laptop (tight budget). Curious to know what you think?

-------------------------
-The Desktop: Abit NF7-S V2 w/ the old AXP-M 2500+ (OC'd) and TT Volcano 12, 1 gig RAM, 37GB WD Raptor, 80Gb Hitachi, XFX NVidia GEForce FX 5700LE (OC'd), Enermax Aluminum Case and XClio 450watt psu, DL DVD-R/RW, DVD-ROM (+ floppy)
SB Audigy 2 ZS
-Everyday:HP Laptop 15.4WS w/Turion64x2 TL-56, 2gig, 160gb, Lightscribe DVD-R/RW, NVidia graphics, Vista
 07/23/2005 03:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

ooh thats a great idea

maybe try a blade server layout

what type of dimensions are you looking for?

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 07/23/2005 11:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stealth13777
Senior Member

Posts: 895
Joined: 12/23/2004

The case now is about 15x15x5.25 (for the drives)... but at the end of the cd drive it slopes down to nothing... just big enough to fit all normal computer parts inside. If we could afford it we would love to make a blade server setup, but right now we're a little short even for this project, using a lot of "recycled" parts that members gotten rid of for newer upgrades.

-------------------------
-The Desktop: Abit NF7-S V2 w/ the old AXP-M 2500+ (OC'd) and TT Volcano 12, 1 gig RAM, 37GB WD Raptor, 80Gb Hitachi, XFX NVidia GEForce FX 5700LE (OC'd), Enermax Aluminum Case and XClio 450watt psu, DL DVD-R/RW, DVD-ROM (+ floppy)
SB Audigy 2 ZS
-Everyday:HP Laptop 15.4WS w/Turion64x2 TL-56, 2gig, 160gb, Lightscribe DVD-R/RW, NVidia graphics, Vista
 07/27/2005 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cow8mynuts
Senior Member

Posts: 1079
Joined: 11/30/2003

wow, so far your idea's sound great, let as know when you start the project and you should post pictures if you can while your doing this project.

-------------------------


my healthzone
 08/05/2005 05:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
91RX-7 Boy
Senior Member

Posts: 2938
Joined: 12/29/2004

maby pickup a small sff mobo, what cpu power do ya need, fry's sells a small cube mobo, i mean small as [content edited], mobo has a built in 650mhz and int vid tooo
 08/05/2005 09:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stealth13777
Senior Member

Posts: 895
Joined: 12/23/2004

QUOTE(91RX-7 Boy @ Aug 5 2005, 04:51 AM)maby pickup a small sff mobo, what cpu power do ya need, fry's sells a small cube mobo, i mean small as [content edited], mobo has a built in 650mhz and int vid tooo
[right][snapback]474758[/snapback][/right]


I like that idea, but we already ordered a micro atx board and a duron 1.8. In the end its not gonna be all that much smaller than a normal computer, but it sure as [content edited] won't look like a computer. Ill put pics on here as soon as I get them off my camera.

-------------------------
-The Desktop: Abit NF7-S V2 w/ the old AXP-M 2500+ (OC'd) and TT Volcano 12, 1 gig RAM, 37GB WD Raptor, 80Gb Hitachi, XFX NVidia GEForce FX 5700LE (OC'd), Enermax Aluminum Case and XClio 450watt psu, DL DVD-R/RW, DVD-ROM (+ floppy)
SB Audigy 2 ZS
-Everyday:HP Laptop 15.4WS w/Turion64x2 TL-56, 2gig, 160gb, Lightscribe DVD-R/RW, NVidia graphics, Vista
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information